The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

1999 Talladega Superspeedway

October 14th - 17th, 1999

Talladega Superspeedway

Talladega Superspeedway® is a registered trademark of International Speedway Corporation. The Auto Channel is not affiliated with International Speedway Corporation.

Dale Earnhardt Wins Winston 500

Bob Strait Wins Winn Dixie 300

Get Windows Media Player
Get the Free Windows Media Player

Scroll down or click here for Headline News from Talladega

Live & On-Demand Cybercast Coverage
A note from Brian Yesowitch:
Do you want a story you don't see here? As Event Producer, I can try to get it for you. Just email me with your request, and I will do my best.
Y92 Contest - (contest has ended)
Tell us where you are from. The person "furthurest"(a Rufus term)from the Talladega track will win a copy of a Papyrus racing game.
Winner: Al Terifay, Shelton CT
ARCA Winn Dixie 300 Entry List and Car Photos
Winston Cup Winston 500 Entry List and Car Photos
Thursday 10/14/1999
All times are Eastern
Friday 10/15/1999
All times are Eastern
Saturday 10/16/1999
All times are Eastern
Sunday 10/17/1999
All times are Eastern

News from Talladega

More news and press releases from

The Auto Channel and WEYY will broadcast daily evening roundtable discussions, which will feature exclusive interviews and stories surrounding the festivities. The show will be presented live from Talladega Superspeedway at 7pm EST. In addition to the roundtable discussions, The Auto Channel will also broadcast WEYY's regular radio coverage, plus exclusive access to WEYY's "talk back system", which consists of a live feed from the reporters on the field with Y92 audible in the background.

Thursdaysí kick-off show will present ARCAís general perspective from the track: whatís expected to occur during the crucial qualifying periods; along with ARCA three time defending champion Tim Steele, Bill Baird, and Shawna Robinson. Robinson is vying for the prestigious honor of being the first woman winner in the trackís 30-year history. Friday nightís show will feature NASCARís Kevin Lepage, driver of the #16 TV-Guide Ford Taurus and Winston One Million Dollar No Bull contender. Also joining the exciting Friday night show will be NASCARís Bobby Kennedy, crew chief of Michal Waltripís #7 Philips Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Saturday will feature an ARCA recap with ARCAís Don Radebagh, and Sundayís show will reflect on the Winston 500ís outcome.

In addition to the extensive track coverage, TACH will cover the Talladega Superspeedway Walk of Fame induction. This year, Lee Petty, Harry Gant, and Jeff Gordon will be given the prestigious honor.

Talladegaís "white knuckled weekend" is aptly named, with five drivers vying for the much coveted No Bull 5 bonus program, sponsored by Winston. Kevin Lepage, Jeremy Mayfield, Mark Martin, Jeff Burton and Ward Burton are all competing for the seven-figure sum. Yet, while all five will be racing for the purse, Sterling Marlin and Mark Martin stand within stoneís throw of the $1 million mark in career earnings, without the bonus. Coupled with Shawna Robinsonís own "Hit the Jackpot with Shawna" sweepstakes, the weekend of the 17th promises endless action and emotion.

Silver Star Resorts