The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

AMA: Chevy Trucks Team USA brings home the gold

15 September 2000

     PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- AMA Pro Racing motocrossers Ricky Carmichael, Travis

Pastrana and Ryan Hughes combined their awesome talents to dominate the world at

the prestigious Motocross des Nations in St. Jean d' Angely, France, winning by

a 17-point margin and bringing home the gold for the first time since 1996.

     Ryan Hughes threw the first punch at the Sept. 10 event, open to teams from

all Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme member nations, powering his PAMO

Honda to the top-spot in the first 125cc/Open moto. In the same moto, motocross

phenom Travis Pastrana overcame an early fall -- which relegated the

Suzuki-mounted rider to last place on the course -- to finish in 10th place.

     After the 1-2 punch of Hughes and Pastrana, it was time for Ricky

Carmichael to start swinging in the 125cc/250cc moto. Carmichael rode his

Kawasaki the only way he knows how: fast, capturing the holeshot and leading the

whole way for his first-ever MX des Nations win. In this moto Travis Pastrana

fell again, further irritating an already swollen knee, but he still managed to

place 15th, as the fourth 125cc rider to cross the finish line.

     The final round paired up Carmichael and Hughes in the 250cc/Open moto and

they pummeled the rest of the world into submission. Carmichael led early, but

surrendered the lead at the halfway point to Sebastien Tortelli, a french rider

who also races in the AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Motocross Championships, and

finished a strong second. Meanwhile, Ryno continued his solid showing to finish


     Each team discards their worst moto finish, so Pastrana's 15th place was

tossed and Team USA's finishes -- two firsts, a second, a fifth and a tenth --

left the rest of the world face-down on the canvas.

YEAR  LOCATION, RIDERS                                                 FINISH
2000  St. Jean d' Angely, France, Ryan Hughes, Ricky Carmichael, Travis Pastrana
1999  Indaiatuba, Brazil, Mike LaRocco, Kevin Windham, Ricky Carmichael     4th
1998  Foxhill, England, John Dowd, Doug Henry, Ricky Carmichael        5th
1997  Nismes, Belgium, John Dowd, Jeff Emig, Steve Lamson              8th
1996  Jerez, Spain, Jeremy McGrath, Jeff Emig, Steve Lamson            1st
1995  Povazska Bystrica, Slovak Rep., Steve Lamson, Jeff Emig, Ryan Hughes  2nd
1994  Roggenburg, Switzerland, Jeff Emig, Mike Kiedrowski, Mike LaRocco     2nd
1993  Schwanenstadt, Austria, Jeff Emig, Jeremy McGrath, Mike Kiedrowski    1st
1992  Manjimup, Australia, Billy Liles, Mike LaRocco, Jeff Emig        1st
1991  Valkenswaard, Netherlands, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeff Stanton, Damon Bradshaw 1st
1990  Vimmerby, Sweden Jeff Ward, Jeff Stanton, Damon Bradshaw         1st
1989  Gaildorf, Germany, Jeff Ward, Jeff Stanton, Mike Kiedrowski      1st
1988  Dung, France, Ron Lechien, Rick Johnson, Jeff Ward               1st
1987  New Berlin, NY, USA, Bob Hannah, Rick Johnson, Jeff Ward         1st
1986  Maggiora, Italy, David Bailey, Rick Johnson, Johnny O'Mara       1st
1985  Gaildorf, Germany, David Bailey, Jeff Ward, Ron Lechien          1st
1984  Vanta, Finland, Rick Johnson, Johnny O'Mara, Jeff Ward, David Bailey  1st
1983  Bruxelles, Belgium, David Bailey, Mark Barnett, Jeff Ward, Broc Glover 1st
1982  Wohlen, Switzerland, David Bailey, Johnny O'Mara, Danny Chandler, Jim Gibson                                                                 1st
1981  Beilstein, Germany, Chuck Sun, Johnny O'Mara, Danny LaPorte, Donnie Hansen 1st
1980  Wiltshire, England, No U.S. Team
1979  Stockholm, Sweden, No U.S. Team
1978  Gaildorf, Germany, Bob Hannah, Rick Burgett, Chuck Sun, Tommy Croft   4th
1977  Cognac, France, Kent Howerton, Tony DiStefano, Gary Semics, Steve Stackable                                                              2nd
1976  St. Anthonis, Netherlands, Rex Staten, Bob Hannah, Tony DiStefano, Kent Howerton                                                               5th
1975  Prague, Czechoslovakia, Jim Pomeroy, Brad Lackey, Kent Howerton, Tony DiStefano                                                              9th
1974  Stockholm, Sweden, Jim Pomeroy, Brad Lackey, Tony DiStefano, Jim Weinert 2nd
1972  Norg, Netherlands, Gary Jones, Jim Weinert, Brad Lackey, Jim Pomeroy  7th