The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Motorcycle Hall of Fame to induct 45 new members July 8

19 May 2000

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The Motorcycle Hall of Fame will induct 45 new 
motorcycling legends to its elite fraternity at a gala celebration July 8 
at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum in Pickerington, Ohio. This year's 
inductees were chosen from a list of more than 200 candidates representing 
all aspects of motorcycling. These honorees bring the total number of 
racers, riders and industry figures in the Hall of Fame to 241. 

The ceremony, set for 4 p.m., is open to the public, with a reception to 
follow. Guests are invited to mingle and talk with the many Hall of Famers 
sure to be in attendance. The induction ceremony is free of charge, while 
tickets to the reception are $15.

The Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes those who have made significant 
contributions to all aspects of motorcycling, including those who have 
excelled in motorcycle business, history, design and engineering, in 
addition to those known for road riding, off-road riding and all 
categories of motorcycle racing.

For more information, contact John Eikenberry at (614) 856-2222 or

The 45 new inductees are:

Dave Barr: A double amputee who rode a Harley-Davidson around the world

Mike Bast: Eight-time U.S. speedway champion

Jean Michel Bayle: 1991 250cc & 500cc motocross national champion; 1991 Supercross champion; 
two-time motocross world champion, road racer

Wells Bennett: 1920s board-track racer; hillclimber; 24-hour world-record holder; 
Three-Flags Run record holder, cross-country competitor with Baker and 

Dick Bettencourt: Dealer, racer, enthusiast

Mark Blackwell: Winner of America's first 500cc national championship motocross race in 
1972; motocross school instructor

Ted Boody: Winner of 8 dirt-track nationals; top-10 ranking 1981-1986; 1985 Grand 
National Championship runnerup

Bob Braverman: Land-speed record holder and journalist

Sharon Clayton: Co-founder of Cycle News magazine

Pete Colman: Speedway champion; tuner; Triumph factory mechanic; vice president of 
Birmingham Small Arms in '60s and '70s

Dave Coombs: Founder of High Point Raceway, Steel City Raceway and Loretta Lynn 
Nationals; considered founder of arenacross

Carl Cranke: Penton rider in the 1960s & '70s; helped develop the Penton motorcycle; 
10-time ISDE team member

Jimmy Filice: 1991 & 1993 250cc road-race national champion; winner of 22 national 
road races

Bill France Sr.: Promoted post-World War II Daytona 200, turned it into one of the 
world's most prestigious motorcycle events

Bill France Jr.: Continues with his father's work of making Daytona one of the most 
prestigious tracks in the world

Broc Glover: 1977-79 125cc motocross national champion; 1981, '83, '85 500cc 
motocross national champion; 50 motocross national wins

Torsten Hallman: Multi-time 250cc motocross world champion; helped introduce motocross to 
American riders

Mike Hailwood: 1964 500cc American Grand Prix winner at Daytona

Fred Ham: "Iron Man Ham"; broke Wells Bennett's 24-hour endurance record in the 
late 1930s; Three-Flags Run record setter

Dick Hammer: Versatile racer who excelled at road race, TT, and flat track; first 
winner of Daytona 250cc class

T.K. Hastings: First American to compete and medal in ISDE at 1913 event on the Isle of 

Barry Higgins: First American factory-sponsored motocross rider

Soichiro Honda: Co-founder of Honda Motor Company

Kent Howerton: "The Rhinestone Cowboy"; 1980-81 250cc motocross national champion; 1976 
500cc motocross national champion

Gary Jones: 1972-74 motocross national champion

Neil Keen: 1960s and '70s dirt-tracker; part of the original "BSA Wrecking Crew"

Danny LaPorte: 1979 500cc motocross national champion; member of first U.S. winning 
Motocross des Nations team, 250cc motocross world champion

Jay Leno: Television star; motorcycling ambassador; enthusiast; collector

Gunnar Lindstrom: Racer; engineer; trainer

Randy Mamola: 1978 AMA 250cc motocross national champion; three-time winner of 
Monterey national road race, 13 500cc world championship road-race 

Tom McDermott: First American gold medalist in 1949 ISDE; scrambles competitor in 
England; road-racer; dealer

Dave Mungenast Sr.: 1973 ISDE silver medalist; enduro rider; dealer; enthusiast

Dick O'Brien: Harley-Davidson racing team manager in the 1960s

Johnny O'Mara: 1983 125cc motocross national champion; 1984 250cc AMA Supercross 
champion; member of four winning Motocross des Nations teams 1981, '82, 
'84, '86

Tom Penton: Winning ISDE rider with several medals; Penton development pioneer; 
performance product designer

Joel Robert: Six-time motocross world champion; Trans-AMA competitor

Bernie Schreiber: First American world trials champion in 1979; instructor; world-wide 
ambassador of trials; 1978 national trials champion.

Hank Scott: Winner of 17 dirt-track Nationals; factory Honda rider; top-10 ranking 
1974-81, '84

Jeff Smith: World champion rider; ISDE and motocross champion; former president of 
the Antique Historic Racing Motorcycle Association

Marty Smith: 1974-75 125cc motocross national champion; 1977 500cc motocross national 
champion; motocross grand prix and Trans-AMA competitor

Jeff Stanton: 1989-90, '92 250cc motocross national and AMA Supercross champion; 1987 
Rookie of the Year

Elmer Trett: Father of modern-day drag racing; eight-time drag-racing champion; first 
rider to top 200, 210, 220 and 230 m.p.h.; still holds record of 6.06 
seconds at 235 m.p.h.

Bill Werner: Legendary Harley-Davidson tuner; 130 wins and 12 Grand National 

George Wyman: The first to cross America on a motorcycle in 1903 on a Yale

Pops Yoshimura: Tuner; product designer and developer