The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

World 500cc Grand Prix and Superbike race results

3 April 2000

2000 F.I.M. 500cc Grand Prix Series, Round 2: Sepang International Circuit,
Sepang, Malaysia, April 2, 2000

Honda riders had a tough weekend at Sepang, Malaysia this weekend in the second
round of World Grand Prix motorcycling racing. World Champion Alex Criville,
riding for Repsol Honda, crashed out on the very first lap after colliding with
the fallen Honda NSR500 of Loris Capirossi (Emerson Honda Pons). The win went to
Kenny Roberts, who comfortably held second-placed Carlos Checa at bay until the
race was stopped six laps early following a rain shower. Welkom, South Africa
winner Garry McCoy took third. Top Honda finisher was Tadayuki Okada, who held
off teammate Sete Gibernau for sixth.

Round 3 moves to the famous Suzuka Circuit in Suzuka, Japan on April 9.

Top finishers:
1. Kenny Roberts, Jr - Suzuki
2. Carlos Checa - Yamaha
3. Garry McCoy - Yamaha
4. Max Biaggi - Yamaha
5. Nobuatsu Aoki - Suzuki
6. Tadayuki Okada - Repsol Honda
7. Sete Gibernau - Repsol Honda
8. Alex Barros - Emerson Honda Pons

2000 World Superbike Championship Series, Round 1: Kyalami, South Africa, April
2, 2000

Castrol Honda's Colin Edwards II started the season with a bang, giving the RC51
its first victory in World Superbike competition. Edwards took the win in the
first 25-lap, 66-mile leg around the 2.65 Kyalami circuit, then came home second
in the second race to Noriyuki Haga. As a result, he shares the points lead with
Haga (who finished second in the first leg).

An excellent start to the 14-event series, and the team moves on to the second
race at Phillip Island in Australia, April 23 with high hopes.

Race one, top-5 finishers
1. Colin Edwards II - Honda
2. Noriyuki Haga - Yamaha
3. Carl Fogarty - Ducati
4. Troy Corser - Aprilia
5. Pier-Francesco Chili - Suzuki

Race two, top-5 finishers
1. Noriyuki Haga - Yamaha
2. Colin Edwards II - Honda
3. Pier-Francesco Chili - Suzuki
4. Troy Corser - Ducati
5. Haruchika Aoki - Ducati