The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Indy 500 Winner Eddie Cheever and Crew Chief Owen Snyder Win Annual Loctite Trophy

25 May 1998

Indy 500 Winner Eddie Cheever and Crew Chief Owen Snyder Win Annual Loctite Trophy
    INDIANAPOLIS, May 25 -- Eddie Cheever made the Loctite trophy
engraver's job much easier this year.
    Loctite annually honors the three team members most responsible for
winning the Indy 500 -- the driver, the owner and the crew chief.
    This year only two names will be added to the bronze and silver cup
because Cheever is the first owner-driver to roll into Victory Lane since A.J.
Foyt in 1977.  The 40-year-old Cheever topped Buddy Lazier by 3.5 seconds to
win the 82nd running of the Memorial Weekend classic.
   Cheever and Crew Chief Owen Snyder stood with their Dallara/Aurora racer
and accepted the award in a ceremony held this morning at the bricked-in
finish line of the 2.5-mile track.
    Larry Savage, national sales manager for Loctite, presented the trophy,
which will be displayed year-round at the Indianapolis Speedway Hall of Fame
Museum.  He also awarded them a check for $20,000 on behalf of the company.
    "The Loctite trophy is a permanent accolade to drivers who have won the
oldest and most honored event in racing, and it also recognizes the invaluable
contributions of chief mechanics, the unsung heroes who make victory
possible," Savage said.
    For the past 26 years, all cars competing in the Indy 500, including every
winner, have been assembled with Loctite high-performance adhesives, sealants
and coatings.  Every car entered in this year's race had over 70 Loctite