The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Texaco To Award $1 Million to Lucky 'Race to Millions' Winner

25 July 1997

Texaco To Award $1 Million to Lucky 'Race to Millions' Winner

          Customers Have Until August 15 To Turn in Their Gamepieces

    HOUSTON, July 25 -- With Texaco's "Race to
Millions" sweepstakes concluding on July 6, $1 million will be awarded to the
person who holds a gamepiece with Texaco-sponsored racer Ernie Irvan's name in
the first scratch-off area and "$1 million" in the second scratch-off space.
    Irvan's win at the Miller 400 in Michigan on June 15th qualified the
holder of the gamepiece for the million dollar prize.  In order to claim the
prize, the recipient of the gamepiece must turn in it and have it verified by
August 15.
    If the Ernie Irvan gamepiece is not claimed by August 15, Texaco will hold
a second-chance drawing, thereby guaranteeing a $1 million winner in its "Race
to Millions" sweepstakes.  Texaco is encouraging everyone who has a gamepiece
marked with any Texaco-sponsored driver's name and $1 million to mail in their
card so they can be part of the second-chance drawing.  The gamepieces must be
received by August 15.
    "We've never held a program of this caliber before," said Mark Johnson,
Director, Advertising and Sales Promotion.  "'Race to Millions' is the first
time we've directly rewarded someone with $1 million.  We're very excited
about making someone a millionaire and we encourage everyone to turn in their
$1 million gamepiece for the second-chance drawing."
    "Race to Millions," which took place May 24-July 6, rewarded Texaco
customers based on the performance of Texaco-sponsored motorsports teams in
Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART); Formula One; National Association for
Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR), Winston Cup and Busch Series; and National Hot
Rod Association (NHRA) events.  The Texaco-sponsored drivers participating in
the promotion were Michael Andretti, Christian Fittipaldi, Jimmy Vasser, and
Alex Zanardi in CART; Jan Magnussen and Rubens Barrichello in Formula One;
Ernie Irvan, Darrell Waltrip, and Dale Jarrett in NASCAR's Winston Cup and
Busch Series; and Randy Anderson and Shelly Anderson in NHRA.  During the
promotion, Texaco customers obtained free gamepieces at participating Texaco
retail locations (no purchase was necessary).  The $1 million winning
gamepieces had a Texaco-sponsored driver's name in the first scratch-off area
and "$1 million" in the second scratch-off space.
    In addition to the $1 million grand prize, instant-win prizes such as a
year's supply of CleanSystem3(R) gasoline, and Texaco/Havoline racing gear
were given away.  Cash awards and trips also were part of the program.  Odds
of winning an instant prize were one in four.  Gamepieces with instant-win
prizes also must be mailed in by August 15 for prizes to be awarded.
    "Having participated in motorsports since 1917, the Texaco/Havoline brand
has grown to worldwide recognition," said Johnson.  "'Race to Millions' was
designed so that when Texaco wins, our customers also should win.  Texaco is
sharing the winner's circle with all its customers.  The last six weeks have
been very exciting ones for Texaco/Havoline motorsports.  We've watched with a
great deal of excitement hoping that one of our drivers would make a Texaco
customer a millionaire."
    Johnson concluded, "The gamepieces are in circulation, we just need the
recipients to turn them in.  We're looking forward to making one of our valued
customers a millionaire very soon."

SOURCE  Texaco

Photo available on AP PhotoExpress Network (May 21, 1997, photo number PRN1); via
 NewsCom, 305-448-8411 or;
or via PressLink Online, 703-758-1740