The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

NASCAR WCUP: Field Set For Bud Shootout At Daytona

28 November 1998

Kenny Irwin
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Kenny Irwin and Gary Bradberry earned themselves an extra day of work for Speedweeks 1999 at Daytona International Speedway.

During the NASCAR Winston Cup Series final weekend of the season at Atlanta Motor Speedway, Irwin and Bradberry earned a spot in the Bud Shootout At Daytona by earning the Bud Pole Award and second-round qualifying honors, respectively.

Scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 7, the Bud Shootout At Daytona is a pair of 25-lap races, one pitting the 1998 season's second-round fastest qualifiers, the other putting the season's pole winners against each other. The winner of the preliminary race also advances to the feature event.

Fourteen different drivers won the Bud Pole Award during the 1998 season's 33 races. Joining Irwin in the Bud Shootout At Daytona are Todd Bodine, Derrike Cope, Ricky Craven, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Hamilton, Ernie Irvan, Dale Jarrett, Bobby Labonte, Mark Martin, Rick Mast, Jeremy Mayfield, Ken Schrader and Rusty Wallace.

Wallace used some drafting help from his brother Kenny to win last season's Bud Shootout At Daytona and its $100,000 payday.

Joining Bradberry in the 25-lap preliminary are Jeff Green, Dave Marcis, Jerry Nadeau, Joe Nemechek, Dan Pardus, Steve Park, Robert Pressley, Dennis Setzer, Morgan Shepherd, Mike Skinner, Jimmy Spencer, Dick Trickle, and Kenny Wallace.

Spencer dashed to victory in last season's Bud Shootout at Daytona qualifier, and finished fourth behind the Wallaces and Bill Elliott.

For information on tickets for the Bud Shootout At Daytona call the Daytona International Speedway ticket office at (904) 253-RACE.

Editors Note: The images displayed in this article (plus many more) can be viewed in The Racing ImageGalleries and the Visions of Speed Art Gallery.