The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

International Motorsports Hall of Fame Announces 1999 Inductees

22 October 1998

The International Hall of Fame has announced that five of this year's 18 semi-finalists will be inducted into the International Hall of Fame as the Class of 1999.

This year's inductees include:

Harry Hyde, who posted 56 wins and one championship as a Winston Cup crew chief. Hyde also acted as crew chief when Bobby Isaac set 28 speed records at Bonneville Salt Flats.

Gordon Johncock, who won 20 poles and 25 Indy car races, including the 1973 and 1982 Indianapolis 500s.

Alain Prost, who was a four-time Formula One champion and posted a record 51 Formula One victories. Prost also won 33 poles, putting him second on the list tied for career poles in F1 racing.

Wendell Scott, a longtime competitor and the only black driver ever to win a NASCAR Winston race.

Louise Smith, winner of 38 NASCAR Modified, Late Model Sportsman and Late Model Stock Car races against top male drivers in the 1940s and 1950s.

Along with the announcement of 1999 Inductees, International Motorsport Hall of Fame Director Don Naman handed out rings to former inductees and/or their representatives. Rings were given to:

1990 inductee Glenn 'FireBall' Roberts
1991 inductee Tim Flock
1991 inductee Carrol Shelby
1993 inductee Bobby Allison
1994 inductee Tiny Lund
1994 inductee Mauri Rose

The Auto Channel attended the announcement ceremony and offers the following video pieces for your viewing Pleasure: