The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Tracks: Street Stock/Open Wheel Modified Nationals Features $15,000 Purse at Bloomington

18 September 1998

BLOOMINGTON, IN- Bloomington Speedway's promoter, Mike Miles, enjoys saving the best for last. How else would you explain the Third Annual Street Stock/Open Wheel Modified Nationals being the last race on Bloomington Speedway's 1998 regular schedule?

Friday, September 25th, Bloomington's pits will be packed with street stocks and open wheel modifieds shooting for starting spots in the $1,200-to-win 25 lap feature races. With the total purse exceeding $15,000, both events pay at least $100 to start. Without qualifying, there will be racing, racing, racing. Beginning with heat races, then semi-mains will build the starting field for the pair of main events.

Bloomington's 1998 WalMart Tire & Lube Express Street Stock champion, Perry Bruce will lead the list of street stock racers vying for the $1,200 paycheck. Although Perry scored two feature wins this year, he is sure to face stiff challenges from Gerald Todd, Greg O'Neill, Bret Ezzo, Cory Brown and Joe Lucas.

Bloomington's Matt Tiller will go into the Nationals as the new open wheel modified champion. The $1,200 winner's payoff will be the biggest of the season for Bloomington's most competitive modified racers, including Kerry Norris, Ray Humphrey, John DeMoss, Albert Webb and Scott Patman.

The evening's program will honor the top ten in the final point standings in both divisions as Bloomington Speedway will present trophies and point fund checks. The track champions, Rookies of the Year and Most Improved Driver awards will also be dispensed.

General admission for the Third Annual Street Stock/Open Wheel Modified Nationals, in memory of Pat Birch, on Friday, September 25th is just $10. Racing fans ages 12 and under are free with a paying adult. Gates open at 5:30, with hot laps beginning at 6:30 and racing at 7:45. The pit gate opens at 4:30. Pit admission is $25, with a $25 car entry fee in both divisions.