The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Tracks: Humphrey & Burns top Bloomington Speedway Points

5 August 1998

BLOOMINGTON, IN - Pennzoil Indiana Sprint Week attracted the toughest competition to Bloomington Speedway. When the racing was over Bloomington's Ray Humphrey had retaken the open wheel modified point lead, while Brazil, Indiana's Eric Burns retained his rank at the top of the Pennzoil Cup sprint car standings.

Burns' twentieth place finish in the A-Main was enough to hold on to the top spot, as Robbie Rice struggled with a late qualifying draw and didn't make it into the heat races. While Rice dropped to third in the points, Derek Scheffel took over second in points with a 15th place finish, and Brownsburg's Justin Marvel shot to fourth point position when he timed fourth quick and ran 16th in the feature. The USAC feature winner, Tony Elliott is now eleventh in Bloomington's Pennzoil Cup, and Brad Fox climbed to sixth by finishing behind Elliott.

Ray Humphrey took the point lead in the open wheel modified division with his seventh place finish on the 24th. Matt Tiller took second, with John DeMoss staying in third in the standings. Albert Webb lead the points going into the event, but dropped to fourth when he finished sixteenth. The top four in the open wheel modified division are very tightly packed, with only five points separating them.

The WalMart Tire & Lube Express street stock division was not in action on the 24th, but will return to the oval this Friday.

Bloomington Speedway will feature the Northern All-Stars late model stock cars on Friday, August 7. The open wheel modifieds and WalMart Tire & Lube Express street stocks will share the oval. Also on the schedule is the open wheel modified division's owners and mechanics race.

Bloomington Speedway's pit gate opens at 4:30, and the grandstand gates at 5:30 pm. Hot laps begin at 6:00, with racing at 7:45. General admission is just $10, with all fans ages 12 and under admitted FREE when accompanied by an adult. Pit admission is $20.

After July 24, 1998

Pennzoil Cup Sprint Cars

1. Eric Burns 252, 2. Derek Scheffel 226, 3. Robbie Rice 224, 4. Justin Marvel 213, 5. Butch Winings 212, 6. Brad Fox 209, 7. Kevin Thomas 198, 8. Kevin Miller 191, 9. Brian Hayden 186, 10. Dave Peperak 176

Open Wheel Modifieds

1. Ray Humphrey 354, 2. Matt Tiller 351, 3. John DeMoss 350, 4. Albert Webb 349, 5. Brian Campbell 327, 6. Richie Lex 305, 7. Troy Jarvis 290, 8. Rob Brickert 276, 9. Bret Barr 270, 10. Rodney Harris Jr. 265

WalMart Tire & Wheel Express Street Stocks

1. Cory Brown 263, 2. Perry Bruce 244, 3. J.D. Francis 242, 4. Don Short 239, 5. Gerald Todd 237, 6. Joe Lucas 236, 7. Don Bush 231, 8. Michael Purtlebaugh 215, 9. Greg O'Neill 204, 10. Brandon Short, Roy Bruce Jr. and Steve Hawkins 202 (tie)