The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Sprints: Bloomington Points Shuffle--More Fireworks Friday

2 July 1998

BLOOMINGTON, IN - In racing, tires, consistency and victories all have an impact on a point battles, whether in Winston Cup or at your local speedway. In Bloomington Speedway point races, two of the three divisions changed leaders as a result of last Friday's action.

In the WalMart Tire & Lube Express Street Stock division, Bloomington's Perry Bruce would have jumped into the point lead if he had won the main event. But a flat tire, while he held the race lead, put him on the sidelines. Gerald Todd, another Bloomington racer, earned his second consecutive victory and swept into the top of the point standings. Last week's leader, Cory Brown fell to second with a 14th place finish.

Albert Webb finished second to Matt Tiller in Bloomington's Open Wheel Modified feature to hold onto the point lead in that division. Tiller's victory shot him from a tie for fourth in points, into second position. Bargersville's Troy Jarvis jumped from seventh in the standings to third with his fourth place finish. Webb and Tiller are both Bloomingtonians.

Eric Burns, of Brazil, took the Pennzoil Cup sprint car series point lead. Driving for the Turbines Inc./Mills Motorsports group, Burns as finished second and third in the two events he's run. Last year's Pennzoil Cup titleist, Brad Fox has moved into second place with one race win. Robbie Rice, Butch Winings and Scott Hamilton complete the top five.

As Bloomington kicks-off its Independence Day celebrations, fireworks and the American Winged Mini-Sprint Association highlight this Friday's festivities. As Bloomington Speedway celebrates its seventy-fifth birthday, a fireworks spectacular that will illuminate the night is planned. The mini-sprints share billing with the open wheel modifieds and the WalMart Tire & Lube Express Street Stocks. General admission is just $10. Racing fans twelve and under are admitted free with a paying adult. Pit admission is $20. The grandstand gates will open at 5:30, hot laps are at 6:30, and racing begins at 7:45. The fireworks display will be midway through the racing program.

After June 26, 1998

Pennzoil Cup Sprint Cars

1. Eric Burns 142, 2. Brad Fox 139, 3. Robbie Rice 120, 4. Butch Winings and Scott Hamilton 119 (tie), 6. Derek Scheffel 116, 7. Justin Marvel 114, 8. Kelly Kinser and Kevin Miller 107 (tie) 10. Troy Link 106

Open Wheel Modifieds

1. Albert Webb 195, 2. Matt Tiller 183, 3. Troy Jarvis 173, 4. Sonny Richardson 170, 5. Ray Humphrey 169, 6. Brian Campbell and John DeMoss 164 (tie), 8. Brad Cummings 161, 9. Rob Brickett 159, 10. Rodney Harris Jr. 158

WalMart Tire & Wheel Express Street Stocks

1. Gerald Todd 170, 2. Cory Brown 155, 3. Perry Bruce 147, 4. J.D. Francis 143, 5. Don Short 141, 6. Michael Purtlebaugh 137, 7. Don Bush 135, 8. Joe Lucas 133, 9. Brandon Short 131, 10. Roy Bruce Jr. 126