The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

NASCAR GDS: The Post and Courier Race Preview/Fact Sheet

27 June 1998

Goody's Dash Series
NASCAR Touring
Pre-race Release


What: The Post and Courier "100" is Race No. 8 in the NASCAR Goody's Dash Series 1998 Schedule.

Where: Summerville Speedway, Summerville, S.C. A .4 mile banked asphalt oval. >From I-26, take exit 199, then south to town. Turn right on US 78, go one block, then left again on Cedar St. (this becomes Central Ave.). Go 4 miles, track is on the right.

When: Saturday, July 4, 1998 - 9:00 p.m.

Distance: 100 Laps (40 Miles)

Promoter: Summerville Speedway Inc.

Sanction: National Association of Stock Car Automobile Racing Inc. (NASCAR)

Schedule: Saturday, July 4--Registration and inspection 11:00 a.m. Mandatory Rookie Drivers Meeting 12:30 p.m. (at the Dash Trailer). Practice 1:00 -3:00 p.m. Draw for qualifying 3:15 p.m. Mandatory Driver and Crew Chief Meeting 3:30 p.m. Time Trials (2 laps) 5:30 p.m.

Posted Awards: $19,350 Including Promoters Purse, Cash Contingency Awards, $1200 NASCAR Goody's Dash Series Championship Points Fund and $2500 NASCAR Goody's Dash Series Top 20 Bonus Plan.

Participating Manufacturers: Goody's Pharmaceuticals, Moog Chassis Parts, NGK Spark Plugs, NAPA Oil Filters, Pontiac Racing, Pro Shocks, Toyota Racing, Victor Reinz Gaskets, Anheuser-Busch, Gatorade, Goodyear Tires, STP Oil Treatment, Unocal 76 Gasoline.

Notes of Interest:
Qualifying Record - 16.479 sec./87.384 mph. David Hutto, April 29, 1995 Race Record - 69.970 mph. Mickey York, March 27, 1993

A traditional race date on the Goody's Dash Series schedule is the July 4, event at Charlie Powell's Summerville Speedway.

This will Be The 17th consecutive event at Summerville Speedway counting the twice a year visits from 1992-96.

Larry Caudil won the first three events here in '87, '88 and '89

Mickey York is the only other three time winner here, winning in '91, '93 and '94.

Will Hobgood won back to back victories here in April and July, 1995.

Other winners here include, Robert Huffman, '90, Mike Swaim Sr., '92, Johnny Smith, '92, Rodney Orr, '93, Edward Howell, '94, David Hutto, '96, Lyndon Amick, '96 and Brian Sockwell in '97.

Will Hobgood scored three consecutive poles here in July '93 and both events in '94.

Larry Caudill is the only other multiple pole winner her with two. One in '87 and one in '89. Both of those poles resulted in wins for Caudill.

Mickey York is the only other driver to win here from the pole. He did so in March of '93.

Note: Prior to 1992, some records may be incomplete.

Rules Specific To This Track:
Tires: Goodyear 2376 (Left Side) 2373 (Right Side)
Field: 26 fastest qualifiers plus two provisionals.
Sound Requirement: All cars must be equipped with mufflers and meet the 98 dba maximum at 100 feet sound requirement.

Motel Information: Accommodations will be tight for this 4th of July weekend. Suggest you make reservations early. The most convenient locations are adjacent to the I-26 exit 199. Holiday Inn Express 803-875-3300, Econo-Lodge 803-875-3022, Comfort Inn 803-851-2333 and Hampton Inn 803-871-8300.

Ticket and Other Information: Available from Summerville Speedway at 803-873-3438. Information about the Goody's Dash Series and the Drivers is available from NASCAR Public Relations, Tim Myers at 919-552-5823.