The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

AMA: National Motocross Sponsors & Promoters to Pay $700,000

9 June 1998

WESTERVILLE, Ohio -- A coalition of motocross race organizers known as the National Promoters Group (N.P.G.), a select group of industry sponsors, series title sponsor Mazda Trucks and the American Motorcyclist Association have together amassed the largest prize fund in the history of motocross racing. An unprecedented $700,000 in cash awards is up for grabs this year by the riders in the AMA/Mazda Truck Motocross Nationals.

"This huge pool of prize money is just the latest in a series of upgrades that are raising the standards in motocross racing," said Merrill Vanderslice, director of competition for AMA Pro Racing. "We applaud the National Promoter Group and all the sponsors for supporting those who make the sport what it is -- the riders."

The N.P.G. -- which organized a cadre of sponsors and raised $200,000 in season bonuses alone -- consists of the local race organizers for the 12-race series. Series title sponsor Mazda Trucks has posted another $100,000 in bonus money.

Dave Coombs, owner of Racer Productions and spokesman for the N.P.G., said the long-term benefits of such a riders' fund will be great. "We decided that our joint coordination as a group had to be paramount," Coombs said. "Our goal is to develop the sport and increase the attractiveness of national motocross racing to sponsors, media, riders, and most importantly, fans. The first three Nationals already held (Glen Helen, Hangtown, High Point) have shown major improvements in the presentation and quality of the overall events, and each race has attracted record crowds. I believe this is a direct result of the efforts of the N.P.G. and our sponsors, plus the growing presence of our sport on television."

The series sponsors are all highly visible at all 1998 AMA/Mazda Truck Motocross National races. The Vendor's Row at each venue is filled with sponsor displays, product demonstrations and souvenirs. Fans at home will also notice the sponsors' presence through track signage and commercials during race broadcasts on ESPN2. Sponsor, series information and broadcast schedules are highlighted on AMA Directlink at Track maps and other race event details are available on the N.P.G. website at

N.P.G. sponsors contributing to the $200,000 bonus fund include: Thor/Parts Unlimited; Dunlop Motorcycle Tires; FMF Racing; Pro-X Pistons/L.A. Sleeve; Moto Tees; Copenhagen Racing; 1-800-COLLECT; Scott USA; Klotz Performance Lubricants; Renthal Handlebars; Mechanix Wear; Pro Action Suspension; Ballzee Aggressive Wear; NGK Spark Plugs and SBS Brake Systems.

Also weighing in to support the riders, particularly the privateers, is Copenhagen Racing. As the series presenting sponsor, Copenhagen Racing will provide a $40,000 Pro Privateer Award Program for the top-finishing, non-factory pro privateers at the individual events.

Add the series total race purse--$360,000--to the bonus fund posted by the N.P.G. sponsors, the Mazda Truck bonus fund, and the Copenhagen Racing Pro Privateer Award, and the 1998 AMA/Mazda Truck Motocross Nationals will pay out a record $700,000 in award money to the riders.

The Mazda Truck $100,000 bonus fund will be paid to the top 20 riders in both the 125cc and 250cc classes in three segments over the course of the 1998 season. The $200,000 N.P.G. sponsor bonus fund will be paid to the top 20 riders in both classes at season's end. The title winner in each class will receive $15,000 from the N.P.G. bonus fund; the 20th-place finisher will receive $2,000.

N.P.G. member organizations include: Glen Helen Raceway Park, San Bernardino, Calif.; Prairie City SVRA Park/Dirt Diggers North Motorcycle Club, Sacramento, Calif.; Budds Creek MX Park, Budds Creek, Md.; High Point Raceway, Mt. Morris, Pa.; Motocross 338, Southwick, Mass.; Red Bud Track & Trail, Buchanan, Mich.; Unadilla Valley Sports Center, New Berlin, N.Y.; Kenworthy's Motocross Park, Troy, Ohio; Spring Creek MX Club, Millville, Minn.; Washougal MX Park, Washougal, Wash.; Broome Tioga Sports Center, Binghamton, N.Y.; Steel City Raceway, Delmont, Pa.