The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

CART: Zanardi Wins "Follow the Leader" Detroit Grand Prix

8 June 1998

By Terry Callahan
The Auto Channel

Alex Zanardi
DETROIT, MI: Alex Zanardi has won the ITT Automotive Grand Prix CART FedEx Championship race at Belle Isle held Sunday. It was Zanardi's third win of the 1998 CART season. Zanardi was unable to pass Greg Moore on the track. He stayed on the track for two laps after Moore pitted. Zanardi's pit stop was almost identical to Moore's. By staying out for the two extra laps on hot tires, Zanardi was able to get the advantage he needed after his stop. Zanardi led the remainder of the race after his first pit stop.

The track promoters had changed the track this year in hopes of creating more passing zones. The money they spent changing the track was wasted. There were no passes for the lead on the track. For that matter, there were very few passes for position in the top ten. Dario Franchitti made a nice move on Moore on a late race restart. Moore, the polesitter, finished fifth.

The complete results follow with finishing position, (starting position), driver, hometown/country, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (2) Alex Zanardi, Italy, Reynard Honda, 72.
2. (3) Adrian Fernandez, Mexico, Reynard Ford, 72.
3. (9) Gil de Ferran, Brazil, Reynard Honda, 72.
4. (8) Dario Franchitti, Scotland, Reynard Honda, 72.
5. (1) Greg Moore, Canada, Reynard Mercedes, 72.
6. (7) Jimmy Vasser, Las Vegas, Reynard Honda, 72.
7. (15) Paul Tracy, Canada, Reynard Honda, 72.
8. (6) Tony Kanaan, Brazil, Reynard Honda, 72.
9. (17) Scott Pruett, Granite Bay, Calif., Reynard Ford, 72.
10.(11) Michael Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Swift Ford, 72.
11.(12) Bobby Rahal, New Albany, Ohio, Reynard Ford, 72.
12.(14) Helio Castro-Neves, Brazil, Reynard Mercedes, 72.
13.(18) Michel Jourdain Jr., Mexico, Reynard Ford, 72.
14.(20) Robby Gordon, Orange, Calif., Reynard Toyota, 72.
15.(16) Patrick Carpentier, Canada, Reynard Mercedes, 72.
16.(25) Andre Ribeiro, Brazil, Penske Mercedes, 71.
17.(10) Christian Fittipaldi, Brazil, Swift Ford, 71.
18.(19) Max Papis, Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., 71.
19.(22) Mauricio Gugelmin, Brazil, Reynard Mercedes, 71.
20.(26) Alex Barron, Vista, Calif., Reynard Toyota, 70.
21.(5) Bryan Herta, New Albany, Ohio, Reynard Ford, 69, off course.
22.(21) Mark Blundell, England, Reynard Mercedes, 56, contact.
23.(4) Richie Hearn, Henderson, Nev., Swift Ford, 50, turbo.
24.(13) Al Unser Jr., Albuquerque, N.M., Penske Mercedes, 46, transmission.
25.(24) PJ Jones, Scottsdale, Ariz., Reynard Toyota, 40, transmission.
26.(23) JJ Lehto, Finland, Reynard Mercedes, 17, handling.
27.(27) Arnd Meier, Germany, Lola Ford, 9, engine.
28.(28) Dennis Vitolo, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Reynard Ford, 6, electrical.

Race Statistics

Time of race: 1 hour, 41 minutes, 17.673 seconds.
Margin of victory: 6.624 seconds.
Winner's average speed: 100.052 mph.
Caution flags: 2 for 7 laps.
Lead changes: 1 among 2 drivers.

Lap leaders: Moore 1-22; Zanardi 23-72.

Series points leaders: 1. Alex Zanardi, 113; 2. Greg Moore, 96; 3. Jimmy Vasser, 80; 4. Adrian Fernandez, 75; 5. Gil de Ferran, 55; 6. Michael Andretti, 52; 7. Dario Franchitti, 50; 8. Bryan Herta, 39; 9. Paul Tracy, 32; 10. Al Unser Jr., 30.