The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Busch Grand National Stihl 300 Postponed

7 March 1998

By Terry Callahan
The Auto Channel

HAMPTON, GA: Rain has forced the postponement of the NASCAR Busch Grand National Stihl 300 in Atlanta. The race will be held Monday at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Track officials had nearly dried the track when the skies opened again, drenching the 1.54 mile oval.

Rain has been hampering practice and qualifying all weekend. The Busch Grand National cars will line up according to car owner points, provisionals, and the postmark date of entries received.

The weather doesn't look much better for the NASCAR Winston Cup race which is scheduled to be ran Sunday. The forecast is calling for thunderstorms, which could cause the postponement of the Primestar 500.

BGN Stihl 300 Lineup:

1. (74) Randy LaJoie, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, points.
2.. (36) Matt Hutter, Chardon, Ohio, Pontiac, points.
3. (3) Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kannapolis, N.C., Chevrolet, points.
4. (34) Mike McLaughlin, Waterloo, N.Y., Chevrolet, points.
5. (66) Elliott Sadler, Emporia, Va., Chevrolet, points.
6. (10) Phil Parsons, Detroit, Chevrolet, points.
7. (00) Buckshot Jones, Monticello, Ga., Pontiac, points.
8. (38) Elton Sawyer, Chesapeake, Va., Ford, points.
9. (33) Tim Fedewa, Holt, Mich., Chevrolet, points.
10. (29) Hermie Sadler, Emporia, Va., Chevrolet, points.
11. (64) Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., Chevrolet, points.
12. (57) Jason Keller, Greenville, S.C., Chevrolet, points.
13. (37) Mark Green, Owensboro, Ky., Chevrolet, points.
14. (88) Kevin Schwantz, Austin, Texas, Chevrolet, points.
15. (17) Matt Kenseth, Nashville, Tenn., Chevrolet, points.
16. (72) Mike Dillon, Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, points.
17. (99) Glenn Allen, Cincinnati, Chevrolet, points.
18. (63) Tracy Leslie, Mount Clemens, Mich., Chevrolet, points.
19. (4) Jeff Purvis, Clarksville, Tenn., Chevrolet, points.
20. (43) Stevie Reeves, Speedway, Ind., Ford, points.
21. (59) Robert Pressley, Asheville, N.C., Chevrolet, points.
22. (6) Joe Bessey, Scarborough, Maine, Chevrolet, points.
23. (45) Brad Loney, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Chevrolet, points.
24. (96) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Pontiac, points.
25. (85) Shane Hall, Fountain Inn, S.C., Chevrolet, points.
26. (89) Stanton Barrett, Fernandina Beach, Fla., Ford, points.
27. (44) Tony Stewart, Rushville, Ind., Pontiac, points.
28. (60) Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark., Ford, points.
29. (20) Blaise Alexander, Montoursville, Pa., Chevrolet, points.
30. (9) Jeff Burton, South Boston, Va., Ford, points.
31. (77) Ed Berrier, Winston-Salem, N.C., Ford, points.
32. (14) Patty Moise, Jacksonville, Fla., Ford, points.
33. (87) Joe Nemechek, Lakeland, Fla., Chevrolet, past race winner.
34. (55) Larry Pearson, Spartanburg, S.C., Pontiac, past series champion.
35. (78) Hank Parker Jr., Denver, N.C., Chevrolet, postmark.
36. (35) Lyndon Amick, Batesburg, S.C., Pontiac, postmark.
37. (92) Derrike Cope, Spanaway, Wash., Chevrolet, postmark.
38. (52) Kevin Grubb, Mechanicsville, Va., Chevrolet, postmark.
39. (12) Jimmy Spencer, Berwick, Pa., Chevrolet, postmark.
40. (21) Michael Waltrip, Owensboro, Ky., Ford, postmark.
41. (50) Jimmy Foster, Ormond Beach, Fla., Ford, postmark.
42. (32) Dale Jarrett, Hickory, N.C., Ford, postmark.
43. (56) Jeff Krogh, Kamiah, Idaho, Chevrolet, postmark.