The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

AMA: Supercross Returns to Tampa

24 February 1998

February 23, 1998
For Immediate Release


WESTERVILLE, Ohio --It's been two years gone, but well worth the wait. On
Feb. 28, the Thor/Parts Unlimited AMA Supercross Series will return to
Tampa, Fla., at Houlihan's Stadium. And if patience has its rewards, then
Tampa fans are about to get their rightful due. 

Perhaps, they'll witness Jeremy McGrath as he leads the Chaparral Yamaha
team into battle and takes yet another leap forward in a quest to reclaim
his title as the King of Supercross. Tampa fans will also look on as one of
their own, Floridian Ricky Carmichael, the Crown Prince of the 125cc east
division, ascends to a throne of his own. The circumstances make for much
ado in Tampa. 

McGrath, of Menifee, Calif., reigned as Supercross champion from 1993-1996.
Switching teams before prior to the 1997 season brought disappointment for
McGrath and his fans, though he earned honors as the runner-up for the 1997
Supercross title. McGrath returned to the 1998 Supercross season with a new
team, Yamaha, and a new focus. But this year, things are different.

Having won four of the past seven rounds, McGrath is clearly setting a pace
that others can't match. He has a 53-point lead over his closest
competitor, series second-place rider Kevin Windham, of Baton Rouge, La. 

Round three of the 1998 AMA 125cc Eastern Region Supercross series will
provide added drama for Tampa fans. This year, fans are sure to be watching
Ricky Carmichael. Carmichael, of Havana, Fla., won the 1997 125cc National
Motocross Championship title for Kawasaki. Carmichael has already won the
first two rounds of the 1998 125cc Eastern Region Supercross Series, and a
win in Tampa would give Carmichael the superiority he needs to rule the
remainder of the Eastern Region Supercross season. 

Tickets for the Tampa Supercross are available at (813) 297-8844. A list of
past Tampa winners follows.

Tampa, FL

250cc Supercross
Date			Winner, hometown			Machine
April 6, 1996		Jeremy McGrath, Menifee, CA		Honda
February 12, 1994	Michael Craig, Lakeside, CA		Yamaha
February 13, 1993	Jeremy McGrath, Murietta, CA		Honda
March 28, 1992		Jean-Michel Bayle, France		Honda
April 28, 1990		Jean-Michel Bayle, France		Honda
March 25, 1989		Jeff Ward, Mission Viejo, CA		Kawasaki
April 23, 1988		Rick Johnson, El Cajon, CA		Honda
April 25, 1987		Jeff Ward, Mission Viejo, CA		Kawasaki

125cc Supercross
Date			Winner, hometown			Machine
April 6, 1996		Mickael Pichon, France			Kawasaki
February 12, 1994	Ezra Lusk, Bainbridge, GA		Suzuki
February 13, 1993	Chad Pederson, Fort Dodge, IA		Yamaha
March 28, 1992		Brain Swink, Linden, MI			Suzuki
April 28, 1990		Tallon Vohland, Independence, MO	Kawasaki
March 25, 1989		Mike Kiedrowski, Canyon Country, CA	Honda
April 23, 1988		Todd DeHoop, Hudsonville, MI		Suzuki
April 25, 1987		Keith Turpin, Forest Park, GA		Suzuki