The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

The Callahan Report: Swaim Jr. Wins At Daytona

13 February 1998

DAYTONA BEACH, FL: The third time's a charm as the saying goes. Mike Swaim, Jr. has won the pole for the Discount Auto Parts 200 Goody's Dash Series NASCAR race three years in a row. He didn't find Daytona's victory lane the first two times. He found it today with dominance.

Mike Swaim Jr.
Mike Swaim Jr. Celebrates With The Team

Swaim, the defending series champion led 45 out of 80 laps ran. There were nine lead changes spread among six drivers.

Swaim earned $12,300 for his Pennzoil Pontiac racing team. His average speed for the 200 miles was 112.535 mph. Swaim started finished fifth in this race in 1997 after starting from the pole. He placed third in 1996, his first ever Daytona start.

The second generation driver from High Point, NC is following in his father's footsteps. Mike Swaim, Sr. was one of the most dominant drivers in series history. Swaim Sr. holds the record for most Discount 200 race victories with four. He won in 1984, 85, 86, and again in 94.

Mike Swaim Jr. was able to stay out of trouble while many of the drivers found Daytona's hard concrete. Two drivers even tested out their roll cages in a spectacular crash. A.J. Frank and Will Hobgood both spent some time on their roofs in the eighth lap crash. Neither driver was injured.

There was another crash with three laps remaining that brought out the red flag. Ernie Yarborough, Robert Nance, Jr. and Mickey York were involved in that show stopping incident. Those drivers also escaped serious injury. The race also saw three other yellow flags involving five drivers.

Swaim was followed across the finish line by Robert Huffman, Doc Brewer, , Ricky Bryant, and Danny Bagwell. The top four finshers were driving Pontiacs. Bagwell was the first Ford to take the checkered flag. Eleven cars were on the lead lap at the finish.