The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

True Value Firebird IROC XXII, Round 1 - Daytona: Fact Sheet

11 February 1998

What:	22nd Anniversary True Value Firebird International Race of Champions
When:	Friday, Feb 13, 1:30 p.m. (Eastern)
Where:	Daytona International Speedway, 2.5 mile high-banked oval

Who:	12 of the world's top drivers, representing different types of 
	motorsports, competing at the invitation of IROC race organizers.
	The field includes: 
		NASCAR Winston Cup drivers --	Jeff Gordon
						Dale Jarrett
						Mark Martin
						Jeff Burton
						Dale Earnhardt

		NASCAR Busch Series driver --	Randy LaJoie
	 FedEx Championship Series drivers --	Al Unser, Jr.
						Jimmy Vasser

       Pep Boys Indy Racing League drivers --	Arie Luyendyk 	 
						Tony Stewart

		      SCCA Trans Am driver --	Tom Kendall

Cars:		Pontiac Firebird Trans Ams, equally prepared by IROC

Distance:	100 miles, 40 laps (caution laps do not count)

Purse:		$760,000 based on point totals after four races with each
		champion earning $225,000.

Lineup:		Starting order determined by draw

TV:		ABC Sports delayed coverage Sunday, March 8, 5pm (Eastern)

Defending Winner:	Al Unser won at Daytona in 1997, finishing .122
			seconds ahead of Mark Martin.

Schedule:	Race 1 - Daytona International Speedway, Feb. 13, 1998
		Race 2 - California Speedway, May 2, 1998
		Race 3 - Michigan Speedway, June 13, 1998
		Race 4 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway, July 31, 1998

Fast Facts:	Mark Martin is the defending True Value Firebird IROC champion.
		He won the title for the second consecutive year in 1997 and
		became the series' first-ever three time champion (1994,
		1996, 1997).  Dale Earnhardt interrupted Martin's streak by
		taking the crown in 1995.  Martin has won four of the last 
		six IROC races (Charlotte and Michigan in 1996, Charlotte and
		Fontana in 1997).  Martin has won a total of six IROC races, third
		on the all-time list.  Al Unser, Jr. leads with eleven and Earnhardt 
		is second with seven.  Unser Jr.'s IROC Daytona victory last year
		ended Earnhardt's streak of three consecutive Daytona wins.  The IRL
		is represented in IROC for the first time this year (Tony Stewart,
		Arie Luyendyk).  Stewart is an IROC rookie, Arie has raced IROC in 
		two previous seasons.  Jeff Burton joins Stewart as an IROC rookie.
		Last year at Michigan, Randy LaJoie, the defending Daytona Busch 
		Grand National race winner, became the first Busch Series driver to 
		win in IROC.