The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Field Set for Round 1 of IROC XXII

11 February 1998

The International Race of Champions has set the starting field for 
this year's season opener IROC race.  11 expert drivers join last 
year's IROC champ Mark Martin in the bid for this year's title, 
kicking off the 4 race championship this Friday at Daytona 
International Speedway.

The starting field was set by lottery at a special news conference 
and luncheon at a Daytona Beach country club.  Drivers pulled 
numbers to determine their starting positions and colors to 
determine which of the 12 identical IROC Pontiac Firebirds they
will drive.

Here's the results of the drawing:

1998 True Value Firebird International Race of Champions, XXII
Round 1 - Daytona International Speedway
Starting Grid

    Start                    Car
    Pos. Driver             Color
     1   Tony Stewart       Orange
     2   Dale Jarrett	    Cream
     3   Jimmy Vasser       Medium Blue
     4   Jeff Burton        Red
     5   Dale Earnhardt     White
     6   Jeff Gordon        Silver
     7   Terry Labonte      Green
     8   Al Unser, Jr.      Purple
     9   Arie Luyendyk      Yelow
    10   Mark Matin         Light Blue
    11   Tom Kendal         Acqua
    12   Randy LaJoie       Dark Blue