The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

STARS Racing Series at Will Cagle's East Bay Speedway: Report and Results

9 February 1998

Gibsonton, FL -   Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Florida captured the opening
race of the STARS Racing Series 1998 Season Thursday night at Will Cagle's
East Bay Speedway in Tampa, Florida.  Driving the Rocket
Chassis/Fulco/Adams used Auto Parts #02 Camaro, Nosbisch held off 1996 &
1997 STARS champion Steve Francis over the final 10 laps of the 40 lap
feature event pocketing $4000 for his first ever STARS Racing Series
sanctioned "full-points" event. Bob Pierce finished third followed by Mike
Balzano and Dale McDowell.  Rounding out the top 10 finishers were Freddy
Smith, Rick Eckert, Billy Moyer, Jack Boggs and Bill Frye.

 At the drop of the green flag outside pole sitter John Gill and pole
sitter Nosbisch battled for the lead with Gill leading lap one over
Nosbisch, Pierce, Balzano and R.J. Conley.  Nosbisch grabbed the lead on
lap 5 only to have Gill take the lead back on the next circuit.  Gill and
Nosbisch raced hard for the lead over the next several laps with Nosbisch
wrestling the lead away on lap 16. Gill would fall from the action one lap
later moving Conley into second.  Francis, who had started 12th, had worked
his way to third by the halfway point with Pierce and Balzano, who had
worked his way back through the field after an early race spin, rounding
out the top five.  Francis and Pierce worked their way past Conley on lap
21 and took off after Nosbisch.  Francis pulled away from Pierce by lap 25
and started to track down Nosbisch catching the leader on lap 30.  By lap
35 Francis was side by side with the leader but couldn't find his way past
Nosbisch as the East Bay Veteran worked the inside groove on his way to

 74 drivers were on hand for the $21,000 event with R.J. Conley setting
quick time at 14.825 seconds around the semi-banked 1/3rd mile.  Heat race
wins were taken by Pierce, Steve Barnett, Ken Nosbisch, Keith Nosbisch, Ray
Cool and Gary Stuhler.  Keith Nosbisch scored the ISKY RACING CAMS Fast
Dash while Delmas Conley, Smith and Moyer took the triple PRO SHOCKS "B"

  Pos.      Car#        Driver          Laps
  1         02          Keith Nosbisch  40
  2         15          Steve Francis   40
  3         23          Bob Pierce      40
  4         E1          Mike Balzano    40
  5         17M         Dale McDowill   40
  6         00          Freddy Smith    40
  7         24          Rick Eckert     40
  8         21M         Billy Moyer     40
  9         B4          Jack Boggs      40
  10        66F         Bill Frye       39
  11        53          Ray Cook        39
  12        38          Kenny Pettyjohn 39
  13        12A         Rick Aukland    37
  14        71C         R.J. Conley     28
  15        12          Jason Smith     23
  16        68N         Ken Nosbisch    20
  17        68          Tim Hitt        16
  18        75G         John Gill       16
  19        71R         Rod Conley       7
  20        19          Gary Stuhler     5
  21        32          Greg Lucas       4
  22        15P         Scott Peltz      4
  23        00H         Chuck Harper     4
  24        75          Bart Hartman     4
  25        71          Delmas Conley    4
  26        89          Steve Barnett    3

John Kaiser -- The Auto Channel