The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

ARA Racefacts Bulletin and Model Review (02/08/98)

9 February 1998


FEBRUARY 8, 1998

	Rusty Wallace (Miller Penske Ford Taurus) scored the
Ford Taurus' historic first victory in Sunday's Daytona Bud
Shootout!  The victory was Wallace's first in a "restrictor
plate" event and only his second at Daytona, joining an IROC
victory on February 17, 1989.
	Wallace finished second in 1997's Busch Clash.
	In the nineteen-race history (1980-1998) of the
Clash/Shootout, Wallace is the eleventh racewinning driver! 
Dale Earnhardt leads with six wins; Neil Bonnett, Jeff
Gordon, and Ken Schrader each have two, while Wallace joins
Darrell Waltrip, Bobby Allison, Terry Labonte, Bill Elliott,
Geoff Bodine, and Dale Jarrett at one victory apiece.
	Rusty's win was only the fourth in the event for Ford,
joining Ford wins by Bill Elliott (1987), Geoff Bodine (Bud
Moore entry in 1992) and Dale Jarrett (Yates, 1996). 
Chevrolet leads in Clash/Shootout wins with 12 over Ford's
four, Buick's two, and Oldsmobile's one.
	Rusty had two previous victories in NASCAR Winston Cup
"nonpoint" events; he won the "Winston" at Charlotte in 1989
and the 1996 Suzuka event.
	Kenny Wallace finished second in the Shootout and
brother Mike finished second in the ARCA race as the Wallace
brothers finished first or second in both events!  This
continued the "brother theme" established Saturday by the
front row efforts of Bobby Labonte (Interstate Batteries
Gibbs Pontiac Grand Prix) and Terry Labonte (Kelloggs
Hendrick Chevrolet Monte Carlo)!
	Prior to the Shootout, Jimmy Spencer won the Shootout
Qualifier in the Winston Travis Carter Ford Thunderbird. 
The victory was Jimmy's second in a "nonpoint" event,
joining his 1996 Charlotte "Winston Open" victory.
	Kenny Irwin, Jr. (Blair Raybestos Ford Thunderbird) won
ARCA's FirstPlus 200 Bondo/Mar-Hyde classic; the victory was
Kenny's first oval victory in a stock car, joining his 1997
Homestead and Texas NASCAR Craftsman Truck wins!
	Kenny's win was Ford's first in the event since Mickey
Gibbs won in a Ford in 1988!  Although the race has now been
held 35 times, Ford has won only nine times, with the Irwin
and Gibbs wins joined by Ralph Jones (1987), Ron Hutcherson
(1975), Andy Hampton (1972), Benny Parsons (1969), Jack
Bowsher (1966), Iggy Katona (1965) and Nelson Stacy (1964
inaugural)!  Chevrolet had a record six-race win streak in
the event entering 1998 and GM products had won the last
nine Daytona ARCA classics prior to Irwin's breakthrough!
	Ford has now tied Chevrolet for the all-time Daytona
ARCA (1964-1998) racewinner honors with nine wins apiece;
Dodge and Oldsmobile have six apiece, Pontiac and Plymouth
two each, and Buick one.
	Many fans may not know that Irwin's early pro racing
efforts featured IMSA road racing!  Kenny competed in the
IMSA American Challenge series from 1986 through 1989 and
took his first major pro racing win in the series'
successor, the IMSA GTO class, in 1990 on May 5 at Heartland
Park in a Buick Somerset!  He placed seventh in 1990 IMSA
GTO points.
	Kenny won six races in 1992 All-American Midget Series
(AAMS) competition en route to the 1992 AAMS season and
Florida Winternationals driver championships!  He scored his
first USAC win on April 5, 1992 at Winchester in a USAC
Midget event!
	Kenny's 1992-1997 USAC efforts produced eight National
Midget wins, seven Sprint Car victories, six Silver Crown
wins, and one Indianapolis Speedrome Regional Midget
victory!  He won the 1996 USAC Midget title, was runnerup
for the 1996 Silver Crown and 1993 Midget titles, finished
third in 1992 Midget points, and fourth in 1994 Silver Crown
and Midget points and in 1995 Midget points!
	Irwin is a master of the USAC pavement; he has six IRP
wins (two each in Midgets, Silver Crown, and Sprint Cars),
four Salem wins (three Sprint Car, one Midget), four
Winchester wins (two each in Midgets and Sprint Cars), plus
Silver Crown wins at Phoenix and Pikes Peak Speedway!
	The Irwin achievement gave Ford a sweep of Sunday's
	Ford last won the Clash/Shootout and ARCA race in the
same year in 1987, when Ralph Jones won the ARCA race and
Bill Elliott won the Clash; Elliott went on to win the
Daytona 500!
	The upcoming Daytona 125 Qualifiers afford Dale
Earnhardt the chance to continue an astounding streak: he's
won eight consecutive Daytona 125 Qualifiers, 1990 through
1997!  Dale also won his qualifier in 1983 and 1986.  The
"Dales" swept the 1997 events as Dale Jarrett won the other
	In the last ten Daytona 125 Qualifiers (1993-1997),
only five drivers have scored wins!  Earnhardt has five,
Ernie Irvan two (1994 and 1996), and Jeff Gordon (1993),
Sterling Marlin (1995) and Dale Jarrett (1997) one each.
	Only four teams have won the last ten Daytona 125
Qualifiers: RCR has five wins, Yates three, Hendrick and
Morgan-McClure one apiece.




	The Brumm (R120) #248 Porsche 356 Mille Miglia model
depicts the car driven by Konstantin Berckheim and the famed
Count Giovanni "Johnny" Lurani (later of Formula Junior
organizational fame) to victory in the 1500 cc class of the
1952 Mille Miglia!
	The early 356 is the Porsche most "children of the 50s"
think of when "Porsche" is mentioned; most famous as a road
car, the model was raced and rallied extensively both at the
international and "club" level!
	The white, black-numeraled car features a sunroof and
appropriate chrome detailing and auxiliary lighting.
	The interior is appropriately detailed with the red
upholstered seats providing a colorful contrast.
	An interesting note: as the Mille Miglia (and Targa
Florio) did not employ "massed" starts but rather started
cars at intervals, the car number indicates the starting
time for the car!
	As noted by Karl Ludvigsen in his book, Porsche:
Excellence Was Expected: "The first major road race entry of
the 1488 cc engine in its seventy-horsepower form was in the
Mille Miglia on May 4th, 1952.  Konstantin Berckheim shared
the wheel of the factory-prepared aluminum coupe with
another count, Giovanni Lurani.  They were only forty-sixth
in the overall standing, having been slowed for the last
fifth of the distance by the loss of all gears but third in
the VW gearbox.  Nevertheless, they managed to outlast their
1.5-liter sports-racing opposition to win their class." 
Ludvigsen further notes that "The 1100 cc class was won by
the private Porsche of Prince Metternich and Count
	Ludvigsen states "One of the strongest early rally
drivers in Porsches was Count Konstantin "Tin" Berckheim. 
Tall, youthful, handsome and aristocratic."
	Richard Von Frankenberg, in his book Porsche: The Man
and his Cars, elaborates "On the sporting side the works
entered one car in the spring of 1952 for the Mille Miglia;
a light-alloy coupe with a 1500 cc engine producing about 70
bhp.  It was handed to the Italian Count Lurani and he,
together with Count Berckheim, competed in the "gran
turismo" class of the Mille Miglia.  The few cars which were
kept at the works from the Gmund (early factory location)
days were entered again and again for sporting events for
they weighed about 220 lb less than the steel-bodied
production ones.
	Lurani and Berckheim did not have an easy job.  On the
last but one sector between Florence and Bologna where the
Futa and Raticosa pass have to be crossed, they had the old
gearbox trouble: suddenly there was only third gear left and
the last 200 odd miles from Bologna via Piacenza and Mantua
to Brescia had to be covered in this third gear, which meant
6000 rpm at about 90 mph."
	The ARA website features color photography of this

	Our website at
provides a wealth of useful and interesting auto racing