The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series, Tampa Nugget 100

2 February 1998

Cordele, GA. - Skip Arp of Georgetown, TN took the lead from his pole
position at the start of the HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series, Tampa Nugget
100 at Cordele Speedway and sped home to victory in the 1998 season opening
race for the cigar sponsored series. Arp's black Curtis Equipment Co.
Chevrolet Monte Carlo was the class of the field all weekend at the fast
3/8 mile high banked facility in East Georgia.

"We were able to get in a good lap in qualifying and it really
helped," Arp stated from the Winner's Circle. "We've won a couple of
Hav-A-Tampa races in each of the last few years, but we want to win this
championship. It's important to us. It's something we have planned as our
main goal this year and its these kind of runs we need to make that

Arp, who has one at least one Hav-A-Tampa race in each of the last
four seasons, blasted out to a big lead early on and only Donnie Moran was
able to put any pressure on him late in the race, but even Moran's patented
late race race charge was not enough as Arp took  the checkered flag. In
1997 Arp had two wins and finished sixth in the points standings as well as
garnering the prestigious Bearden Oil Award. Moran finished in second with
Bart Hartman making a solid run into third. Bob Pierce finished fourth with
Scott Bloomquist taking fifth.

There were four cautions during the 100 lap event, the most serious
of which was when Billy Ogle Jr of Knoxville, TN slammed the first turn
wall on the first lap. Dale McDowell, Ronnie Johnson and Bill Frye were
caught up in the incident and suffered damage. 18 cars finished the race on
the lead lap.

The series now moves on to the home of its sponsor as it travels to
East Bay Speedway in Gibsonton, FL, near Tampa. Thursday, Feb 5, will see a
50 lapper and Friday the cars will face 100 laps around Will Cagle's East
Bay Speedway.


1.  Skip Arp            Georgetown, TN          $15,400
2.  Donnie Moran        Dresden, OH               8,500
3.  Bart HArtman        Zanesville, OH            5,000
4.  Bob Pierce          Danville, IL              3,500
5.  Scott Bloomquist    Mooresburg, TN            3,000
6.  Wendell Wallace     Batesville, AR            3,050
7.  Freddy Smith        Knoxville, TN             2,800
8.  Jimmy Sharpe        Vidalia, GA               2,250
9.  Johnny Virden       Russellville, AR          2,300
10. Ray Cook            Murphy, NC                2,050
11. Jack Pennington     Winston, GA               1,500
12. Mark Miner          Stockbridge, GA           1,300
13. Billy Moyer         Batesville, AR            1,850
14. Rick Eckert         York, PA                  1,100
15. David Gibson        Ash Flat, AR              1,000
16. Marshall Green      Dalton, GA                1,275
17. Bill Frye           Greenbrier, AR              950
18. Rodney Combs        Ft Meyers, FL               925
19. Alan Vaughn         Belton, MO                  900
20. Dan Schlieper       Peewaukee, WI               900
21. Clint Smith         Griffin, GA               1,200
22. Dale McDowell       Rossville, GA             1,200
23. Ronnie Johnson      Chattanooga, TN             900
24. Billy Ogle Jr       Knoxville, TN               900

ISKY RACING CAMS Fast Gun Award Winner: Skip Arp - 16.34 seconds

BORLA PERFORMANCE Heat Race Winners: Skip Arp, Donnie Moran, Bart Hartman,
Scott Bloomquist, Billy Ogle Jr.

John Kaiser -- The Auto Channel