The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer



The Dean Batchelor Award, for excellence in automotive journalism, will be presented to one MPG Award winner

The Motor Press Guild (MPG), America’s largest automotive media association, has announced the finalists for the MPG Excellence in Automotive Journalism Awards. The winners of this year’s awards will be revealed during the MPG Dean Batchelor Award Dinner, held February 24, at the Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles.

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

From the winners in each of seven MPG Award categories, the Guild chooses a single recipient for the Dean Batchelor Award. It is presented to the journalist whose work best represents the professional standards that marked Batchelor’s career.

The Bob D’Olivo Award for outstanding achievement in photography, named in honor of one of the media’s most influential photographers, will also be presented at the event.

The finalists in each category are:

  • Articles: Feature Article
    • Steven Ewing ("Digging Mongolia: Hunting for Fossils with Infiniti and New Paleontological Tech”)
    • Amy Wallace ("Lady Leadfoot”)
    • Lyn Woodward ("The Rebelle Rally: A 7-Day, 1200-Mile, Women-Only, GPS-Free Test of Endurance, Brains and Heart")
  • Articles: News Article
    • Mark Harris ("Arizona Governor and Uber Kept Self-Driving Program Secret, Emails Reveal”)
    • Jerry Hirsch ("Feds Say Truckers Over-Counted, Autonomous Tech Threat Overstated”)
    • Jerry Hirsch ("Thor Trucks Storming Into Heavy-Duty EV Market")
  • Books
    • Tim Considine ("Twice Around the Clock - The Yanks at Le Mans Vol. I-III")
    • Hurley Haywood and Sean Cridland ("Hurley: From the Beginning”)
    • Ryan Snodgrass ("Turbo 3.0: Porsche's First Turbocharged Supercar”)
  • Audio/Visual: Feature Video
    • Micah Muzio/COTU (Ford GT/Resale Value,
    • Randy Wells (Icarus, Hot Rod Films)
    • Lynne Woodward (The Rebelle Rally, The Drive)
  • Audio/Visual: Video Review
    • Henry Catchpole (Porsche 911 GTS/Manual Gearbox, Carfection on Roadshow)
    • Micah Muzio/COTU (Ford Bullitt,
    • Micah Muzio/COTU (Subaru Ascent,
  • Audio/Visual: Audio Program
    • No Finalists
  • Social Media/Social Media Feed
    • Jonny Lieberman, Instagram
    • Drew Phillips, Instagram
  • Social Media/YouTube Channel
    • Doug DeMuro, “Here's Why the Koenigsegg Agera RS1 Is Worth $10 Million”
    • Regular Cars, “Good Example: 1990 Chevrolet K5 Blazer: Regular Car Reviews”
  • Bob D’Olivo Award For Photography
    • Sean Cridland ("From Darkness”)
    • Lisa Linke ("GT3 RS")
    • Lisa Linke ("Porsche GT3 RS”)

    • PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)