LOS ANGELES--The annual Motor Press Guild Awards, including the Dean Batchelor Award, will be presented February 11 at 6:30 pm at the Petersen Automotive Museum.

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

This annual celebration of excellence is intended to inspire automotive journalists, both present and future, to produce work of the highest professional caliber in eight specific categories including feature articles, news stories, vehicle reviews (in both print and video format), books, audio programs, video features, and photography.

From among the winners of these categories, MPG will present the Dean Batchelor Award and a $500 prize to the journalist judged to have produced the single piece of work which best represents the professional standards and excellence demanded by Dean Batchelor during his life as an editor, writer, and chronicler of the automotive industry. Established by the Motor Press Guild in 1995, the Dean Batchelor Award recognizes excellence in automotive journalism as exemplified by the man it is named after. (Learn more about the Motor Press Guild Awards here at www.motorpressguild.org/events/mpg-awards/)

Congratulations to the following individuals who have been selected as finalists for the 2017 Motor Press Guild Best of the Year Awards:

MPG Best of the Year: News Article

  • “Secret ‘Project Portal’ Toyota Venture Launches Hydrogen Fuel Cell Heavy-Duty Truck” by John O'Dell for Trucks.com
  • “Canadian Dealers Export Thousands of Pickup Trucks to US in Currency Arbitrage” by Jerry Hirsch for Trucks.com
  • “Soaring Insurance Rates Stymie New Independent Truckers” by Michelle Rafter for Trucks.com

MPG Best of the Year: Feature Article

  • “1000 Ways to Fail: How a Pair of Porsche 911s Took On the Grueling Baja Mexican 1000” by Randy Wells for Panorama
  • “Wheel Woman: Sera Trimble's Rise to the Top of the Stunt Driving Ranks” by Basem Wasef for Automobile Magazine
  • “Casualties on the Home Front: Japanese-American Hot-Rodders and Executive Order 9066” by Norman Mayersohn for Autoweek

MPG Best of the Year: Vehicle Review

  • “2018 Honda Odyssey First Review: The Best Family Car in the World” by Jason Allan for Kelley Blue Book
  • “Review: John Deere 9570RX Scraper Tractor” by Ryan ZumMallen for Trucks.com
  • “2017 Ford GT” by Basem Wasef for Wired Magazine

MPG Best of the Year: Video Review

  • “5 Reasons to buy a Ford F-150” by Jabari Jones, Bong Hung, Brian Moody
  • “Ford 150 Raptor” by Micah Muzio and COTU Media
  • “Alfa Giulia QV Challenges BMW M3 on Amazing Road” by Todd Deeken, Paul Schmucker
  • “2017 Nissan Armada: Real World Review” by Brian Moody, Flynnside Out Productions
  • “2018 Honda Odyssey vs. 2017 Chrysler Pacifica” by Tara Trompeter, Brian Moody, Flynnside Out Productions

MPG Best of the Year: Feature Video

  • “McLaren” by Roger Donaldson
  • “1000 Ways To Fail” by Randy Wells
  • “The 24 Hour War” by Nate Adams, Adam Carolla

MPG Best of the Year: Audio Program/podcast

  • “Giuliano Zuccato, Clay Sculptor – 1964 Mustang” by Carm Capriotto
  • “Is Driving Therapy? Cars for Skateboarders, A New Enthusiast” by Todd Deeken, Paul Schmucker

MPG Best of the Year: Book

  • “Can-Am 50th Anniversary: Flat Out With North America's Greatest Race Series” by George Levy
  • “Isky: Ed Iskenderian and the History of Hot Rodding” by Matt Stone
  • “Stile Transatlantico / Transatlantic Style: A Romance of Fins and Chrome” by Donald Osborne

Bob D’Olivo Award for Photography

  • “Sunrise at Nürburgring” by Lisa Linke for European Car Magazine
  • “Monster in the Woods” by Camden Thrasher
  • “The Red One” by Larry Chen

For multimedia - http://motorpressguild.tritium.co/motor-press-guild-announces-mpg-award-finalists

The evening will feature a cocktail hour beginning at 6:30 pm, followed by dinner and the MPG Awards ceremony. The best of the best will be honored with the Dean Bachelor Award and a $500 cash prize. Purchase your tickets now at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2018-mpg-awards-and-dinner-tickets-40915204478?aff=PR!

About the Motor Press Guild Awards

The Motor Press Guild Awards single out persons demonstrating outstanding achievement in automotive journalism and communications. Judging for each category is conducted by MPG members and non-members appointed by the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee, and a final panel of three judges, including the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee as Head Judge, selects the winner of the Dean Batchelor Award from amongst the category winners. Selected separately by the Motor Press Guild Board of Directors, the Lifetime Achievement Award is presented on a case-by-case basis to individuals for their outstanding contributions to the automotive communications industry.

About the Motor Press Guild

The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is the largest automotive media association in North America. This exclusive, non-profit organization is dedicated to upholding the highest ideals in automotive journalism and promoting education and information exchange within the motoring press. For more information, please visit www.motorpressguild.org


on behalf of the Motor Press Guild
Brandy Schaffels, 323-374-3674