The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Ballou Looking To Make History At Terre Haute IN Action Track Wednesday



By: Richie Murray - USAC Media

Two weeks ago, in his return to the cockpit of a USAC AMSOIL National
Sprint Car for the first time in eight months, Robert Ballou made the
contingent on hand stand up and take notice that he hadn't missed a beat.

His second race back in Eldora Speedway's #LetsRaceTwo resulted in a
commanding victory and placed him right at the top of the totem pole of
favorites heading into this Wednesday night's "Tony Hulman Classic" at the
Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

It was a moment that recalled some of the greatest USAC comebacks seen in
recent history such as Lee Kunzman's National Midget win at Tri-County
Speedway in Cincinnati in 1971, where he returned to victory in his first
race after suffering a broken neck, arm and severe burns in a sprint crash
at Missouri's I-70 Speedway in 1970. Or Pancho Carter's return after severe
lower extremity injuries in a testing crash at Phoenix, in which he won his
first two USAC Sprint Car appearances at Indianapolis Raceway Park and
Winchester (Ind.) Speedway after a five-month layoff.

The "Hulman Classic" is an event in which Ballou has won twice in a row.
Only two other drivers have accomplished that feat: Steve Butler (1987-88)
and Levi Jones (2008-09).

Rocklin, California's Ballou has unprecedented territory to claim this time
around as he aims to become the first driver to win three consecutive
"Hulmans." Only Jones (2005-08-09) and Cary Faas (1992-94-98) have even won
three total in the 46-year history of the event.

In last year's "Hulman Classic," Ballou and Thomas Meseraull waged war in a
back-and-forth slider-fest before Ballou pulled ahead with less than 10
laps remaining to prevail at the Action Track.

Ballou is among five past winners expected to compete in Wednesday night's
race, including Dave Darland (1993 & 2014), Jerry Coons, Jr. (2010 & 2013),
Jon Stanbrough (2002 & 2007) and Chris Windom (2011). Windom has won the
last two appearances by USAC at Terre Haute, a National Sprint Car triumph
in October of 2016 and the "Sumar Classic" Silver Crown season opener in
April of this year.

The "Hulman Classic" began with George Snider's victory in 1971 and
continues today as the longest, annually-contested event on the USAC AMSOIL
National Sprint Car calendar. Except for a brief period between 1988 and
1991 when the event moved to the pavement at Indianapolis Raceway Park, the
Hulman Classic has always been held at the half-mile Terre Haute Action

Former winners of the race include ten Indianapolis 500 veterans, 14 past
USAC National Sprint Car championships and even an NHRA Top Fuel Drag
Racing star, Doug Kalitta.

Pit gates open for the Hulman Classic at 3pm with the grandstands set to
open at 4. Cars hit the track at 6:30.  The Scott's Custom Colors UMP
Modifieds will also be in action.

Fans will receive a savings of $20 by purchasing their own "Week of Indy"
Superticket now at
The Superticket is your golden ticket for admission to all three of this
week's USAC races at a steal of a price!

Wednesday's "Tony Hulman Classic" will also be streamed LIVE on via Pay-Per-View.

*About Terre Haute Action Track:*

                For more information, follow the Action Track online at and on Facebook (  Updates are also available by
calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

                The Terre Haute Action Track is located at the Wabash
County Fairgrounds, in Terre Haute, IN.  The physical address is 3901 South
US Hwy 41, Terre Haute, IN 47807.

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)