The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

BorgWarner's Advanced Technologies Drive 2014 World Car Winners

audi a3
2104 Audi A3

AUBURN HILLS, MI--May 15, 2014: BorgWarner supplies a number of advanced technologies for winners of the 2014 World Car Awards, including the:

2014 World Car of the Year: Audi A3 BorgWarner supplies GenV all-wheel drive couplings, chain timing systems for models powered by 1.8- and 2.0-liter DOHC I4 engines, ignition coils for 1.2- and 2.0-liter gasoline models, and dual-clutch and mechatronic modules for 6-speed dual-clutch transmissions. For 1.6- and 2.0-liter diesel models, BorgWarner produces glow plugs, exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) pipes, oil pipes and EGR valves. 2014 World Luxury Car: Mercedes-Benz S-Class BorgWarner delivers ignition coils, EGR coolers, EGR valves and thermostats for a variety of gasoline-powered models, radiator identification sensors and friction plates for 7-speed automatic transmissions. For diesel models, BorgWarner supplies regulated two-stage (R2S®) turbochargers, high-pressure EGR valves, glow plug controllers for 2.2- and 3.0-liter models, and thermostats for 3.0-liter models. 2014 World Performance Car: Porsche 911 GT3 BorgWarner produces ignition coils and the new rotary sleeve thermostat for the GT3 Engine.

For 12 of the 15 finalists in all categories, including the winners noted above, BorgWarner provides one or more advanced technologies, such as variable cam timing systems, chain timing systems, turbochargers, EGR coolers and valves, thermostats, ignition coils, glow plug controllers, cabin heaters, friction plates and GenV all-wheel drive couplings.

"Designed to improve fuel economy, emissions and performance, BorgWarner's advanced technologies drive a broad range of the world's leading vehicles," said James R. Verrier, President and Chief Executive Officer, BorgWarner. "We congratulate our customers for these distinguished industry honors."

To be eligible for the overall World Car award, the candidates must be available for sale on at least two continents between January 1, 2013, and May 31, 2014. The tenth annual World Car Award winners were chosen by an international panel of 69 automotive journalists from 22 countries.