The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

BorgWarner Produces Advanced Technologies for the 2013 World Car of the Year

2014 Porsche Boxster

BorgWarner Technologies also Drive Winners and/or Finalists of the World Car Design of the Year, World Green Car and World Performance Car

AUBURN HILLS, MI--June 4, 2013: BorgWarner supplies a number of advanced technologies for winners of the 2013 World Car of the Year Awards, including the:

  • 2013 World Car of the Year: Volkswagen Golf
    BorgWarner supplies GenV all-wheel drive couplings, timing systems for models powered by EA888 engines, and dual-clutch and control modules for the 6-speed dual-clutch transmission. Diesel models also feature BorgWarner glow plugs, pressure sensor glow plugs, glow plug control units and cabin heaters while gasoline models include BorgWarner ignition coils.
  • 2013 World Performance Car: Porsche Boxster/Cayman
    BorgWarner provides ignition coils.
  • 2013 World Car Design of the Year: Jaguar F-Type
    BorgWarner produces variable cam timing phasers and friction plates for the 8-speed automatic transmission.

For 11 out of the 13 finalists in all categories, including the winners noted above, BorgWarner also produces one or more advanced technologies, such as variable cam timing phasers, timing systems, turbochargers, exhaust gas recirculation coolers, ignition coils, glow plugs, pressure sensor glow plugs, glow plug control units, cabin heaters, friction plates, one-way clutches and high pressure transmission solenoids.

"From timing systems and turbochargers to transmission components, ignition technologies and all-wheel drive systems, BorgWarner's advanced technologies can be found in a broad range of leading vehicles around the world," said James R. Verrier, President and Chief Executive Officer, BorgWarner. "We sincerely congratulate our customers for these distinguished industry honors."

The ninth annual World Car Award winners were chosen by an international panel of 66 automotive journalists from 23 countries. The awards recognize and reward automotive excellence on a global scale.