The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Clean Energy Trust Announces Judges for 2013 Clean Energy Challenge

clean energy trust

CHICAGO--March 19, 2013; The Clean Energy Trust today announced the slate of judges for the 2013 Clean Energy Challenge, a $310,000 business plan competition to take place April 4 in Chicago.

“The caliber of the judges at this year's competition really speaks to the hunger in the marketplace for new clean energy ideas”

This prestigious group of clean energy leaders and investors will select the winners at the third annual Challenge. Eight companies from four states will compete for the $100,000 early-stage prize. Nine student finalists will vie for the $100,000 Student Challenge prize. Cash prizes in both tracks are provided by the U.S. Department of Energy. In addition, all competitors are eligible for the $50,000 McCaffery Lakeside Prize, sponsored by McCaffery Interests.

"The caliber of the judges at this year's competition really speaks to the hunger in the marketplace for new clean energy ideas," noted Amy Francetic, Clean Energy Trust executive director. "Certainly the prize money and acceleration services are incentives for the finalists, but they are very excited by the opportunity to have their businesses evaluated by the most discerning minds in cleantech."

The 2013 Clean Energy Challenge Judges:

Tom Brennan

Arch Venture Partners

Matt Brown

Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Tim Brumbaugh

GM Ventures

Paul Cummings

Honda Strategic Ventures

Issam Dairanieh

BP Ventures

Rahul Das

Intellectual Ventures

Ira Ehrenpreis

Technology Partners

Tom Filarski

Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Declan Flanagan

Lincoln Renewable Energy

Mike Frerker


Gerd Goette

Siemens Venture Capital

Ashley Grosh

Wells Fargo

Michael Horowitz

Robert W. Baird and Company

Val Jensen


Anand Kamannavar

Applied Ventures

Tom Kappel


Dick Kiphart

William Blair

John Krzywicki

True North Venture Partners

Adam Lerner

McNally Capital

David Marquardt

Ernst & Young

Matt McCall

New World Ventures

Ed Miller

Joyce Foundation

Steven Moffitt

GE Energy

Marc Neri

Silicon Valley Bank

Pin Ni

Wanxiang America Corp.

Mil Ovan

Navitas Systems

Armando Pauker

Apex Venture Partners

Mark T. Peters

Argonne National Lab

Jeff Phillips

Renergy Capital

Daniella Proske

BASF Ventures

Dan Radamski


Mike Rehberg

Dow Chemical

Anna Remis

Sidley Austin

Craig Rigby

Johnson Controls

Susanne Roslon

Abbott Laboratories

Jimmy Samartzis


Rick Smith


Sven Strohband

Khosla Ventures

Richard Stuebi

Early Stage Partners

Tim Stojka

Agentis Energy

Matt Trevithick


Steve Vielmetti

Johnson Controls

Tracy Warren

Battelle Ventures

Steve Weiland

KPMG Corporate Finance

Dennis Welch

American Electric Power

David Wells

Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield & Byers

Rob Winner

Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Ed Woodbury

McCaffery Interests

Mark Zhu

DTE Energy Ventures

Matthew Zoerink

UK Trade & Investment

The 2013 Clean Energy Challenge sponsors include: United States Department of Energy, Advanced Energy Economy, Ernst & Young, GE, Joyce Foundation, McCaffery Interests, SC Johnson, United Airlines, Wells Fargo, Abbott Laboratories, Ameren, Invenergy, Missouri Energy Initiative, Nortech, Northwestern University, Purdue University, Skadden, University of Illinois, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Missouri, Wanxiang America Corporation, Wisconsin Energy Research Consortium, ARCH Venture Partners, Applied Ventures, BP Alternative Energy, ComEd, Danfoss Group Global, DTE Energy, Dow Venture Capital, Exelon Corporation, Illinois Ventures, Johnson Controls, Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, Katten Muchin Rosenman, Khosla Ventures, Kleiner Perkins Caufield and Byers, Lincoln Renewable Energy, Missouri Technology Corporation, New World Ventures, Next Energy, Renergy Capital, Sidley, Steptoe & Johnson, Technology Partners, True North Venture Partners, UK Trade & Investment, Venrock, Walgreens, Agentis Energy, Baird Capital, Case Western Reserve University Great Lakes Energy Institute, Dominion Community Foundation, EDP, Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council, Ohio State University Office of Energy & Environment, Shaw Group, Silicon Valley Bank, University of Dayton and University of Missouri.

The Clean Energy Trust was founded by prominent business and civic leaders to accelerate the pace of clean energy innovation in the Midwest. The trust is supported by grants from the U.S. Department of Energy, the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Joyce Foundation, the Chicago Community Trust, the Small Business Administration and donations from over 50 investors, corporations, universities and trade groups. For more information, visit