The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Toyota Motor Europe to Equip Vehicles with TomTom HD Traffic

toyota prius (select to view enlarged photo)

GENEVA--March 5, 2013: Today, TomTom announces that Toyota Motor Europe (Toyota) will offer TomTom HD Traffic* as standard in all vehicles with Toyota's next generation Touch&GO navigation and infotainment systems. TomTom's award-winning traffic information will be rolled out from early 2014.

“TomTom HD Traffic is in a league of its own. We provide world-class traffic information that is precise and highly accurate”

With access to TomTom's accurate, up-to-date and comprehensive traffic information, Toyota drivers will get to their destinations faster. By combining accurate data, from multiple sources, TomTom delivers the highest quality traffic information available.

"TomTom HD Traffic is in a league of its own. We provide world-class traffic information that is precise and highly accurate," says Charles Cautley, Managing Director Automotive at TomTom. "We're delighted to extend our partnership with Toyota and bring TomTom HD Traffic to drivers across Europe. Our real-time traffic information will help millions of drivers to get to their destinations faster."

"As one of World's leading car manufacturers, we strive to develop products that don't just meet our customers' expectations, but exceed them," says Derek Williams, General Manager, Telematics & Multimedia at Toyota Motor Europe. "Quality traffic information always comes high on our customers' wish list. By providing TomTom HD Traffic as an in-built connected service, our drivers will always have the best traffic information available."

TomTom will collaborate with its partner Harman to integrate TomTom HD Traffic into the next generation Touch&Go multimedia platform.

TomTom HD Traffic will be integrated in Toyota Motor Europe's next Touch&Go platform from January 2014. It will be available in the following countries:

Luxembourg, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, Vatican City, Russia, Greece and Hungary.