The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

UPS Honors Missouri Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving


ST. LOUIS--February 20, 2013: UPS today announced 31 elite drivers from Missouri are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they've saved”

Missouri boasts 215 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,270 years of accident-free driving. William Glenn of St. Louis and Harold Pertain Jr. of Liberty are the state's senior safe drivers, with 40 years each of accident-free driving under their belts. There are 1,514 total UPS drivers in Missouri.

Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times.

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they've saved," said Judith Henry, president, UPS Central Plains District.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called "Space and Visibility." All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS Safety.

UPS is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at

Following is a list of Missouri drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Robert Allison Kansas City Kansas City
Elijah Blackwell Bridgeton Earth City
David Bockius Affton St. Louis
Charles Cartella Kearney Kansas City
Gordon Cates St. Charles Earth City
Gilbert Clark Florissant St. Louis
Robin Collins Willow Springs Willow Springs
Randy Fortner Joplin Joplin
Steven Garner Hayti Hayti
Blaine Goddard Kansas City Kansas City
Robert Hardin Saint Peters Earth City
Mark Harvath Manchester Earth City
David Hays Grain Valley Lenexa
Randall Leclere Parkville Lenexa
John Lehmen Freeburg Jefferson City
Winfried Letendre Festus Crystal City
Darren Lindsey Joplin Springfield (Metro Bldg.)
Steven Lombardo Grain Valley Kansas City
Cornelius Love Jr St Louis Earth City
Bryan Macy Joplin Joplin
Brian Melia Springfield Springfield (Ext.)
Donald Meyer Bowling Green Palmyra
Timothy Ramirez Kansas City Kansas City
Brian Reese Kansas City Kansas City
Randall Rehkop Arnold Earth City
Eric Schnitzler Wentzville Earth City
Deron Shocklee Troy Earth City
John Sokolich St Louis St. Louis
Jeffry Stone Otterville Sedalia
Glen Wadley Jr Saint Peters Earth City
Edward Warczakoski Kansas City Lenexa