The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

POWRi Outlaw Micros - Series Releases 2013 Schedule


MILLSTADT, Jan. 9, 2013: The POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series

has scheduled 26 events for the 2013 season including the $10,000-to-win 66 Mike Phillips Memorial and the inaugural Illinois Micro Week championship.

The Phillips Memorial moves to Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., for its third running on July 19-20. It has become one of the nation’s premier Micro sprint events, attracting over 100 cars in each of the past two years.

The four events for Illinois Micro Week, a championship within the season championship, will be run in conjunction with the first Illinois Midget Week, part of the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series. They begin at Jacksonville Speedway on June 6, followed by Lincoln Speedway on June 7, Macon Speedway on June 8 and Vermillion County Speedway in Danville on June 9.

“Our Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series has developed into what many of our competitors believe is the strongest in the nation,” POWRi’s Kenny Brown. “We regularly attract top drivers and teams from beyond our Midwest base and the Phillips Memorial reaches out farther than that. We think pairing our Micro Week championship with our Midget Week will offer fans one of the best weeks of short track racing in America this season.”

POWRi’s 600cc Outlaw Micros has eight events at Belle-Clair, five at Macon, three at Jacksonville, two at Lincoln, Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway, Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill., and one at Vermillion County, Bloomington (Ind.) Speedway, Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., and Washington, Mo.

POWRi’s Micros will run in 23 events with the POWRi Midgets. The stand-alones are the Phillips Memorial and the very popular Washington (Mo.) Town and Country Fair on Aug. 3.

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series 2013 schedule: March 23—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; April 12-13—Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway (3/8-mile); April 26--Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); April 27--Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); May 17—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; May 18—Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); May 31—Tri-City Speedway (3/8-mile), Granite City, Ill.; June 6—Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); June 7—Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); June 8—Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); June 9—Vermillion County Speedway (1/4-mile); June 28—Bloomington (Ind.) Speedway (1/4-mile); June 29—Tri-State Speedway (1/4-mile), Haubstadt, Ind.; July 5-6—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; July 19-20—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Aug. 3—Washington (Mo.) Town and Country Fair (1/5-mile); Aug. 11—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Aug. 16—Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); Aug. 17--Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); Sept. 13—Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); Sept. 28—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Oct. 5—Tri-City Speedway (3/8-mile), Granite City, Ill.