The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Kettering University Students Competing at 2011 SAE Clean Snowmobile Challenge March 7-12

snowmobile (select to view enlarged photo)

FLINT, Mich.--Kettering University in Flint is among the universities competing at the 2011 SAE Clean Snowmobile Challenge at the Keweenaw Research Center in Michigan's Upper Peninsula March 7-12.

Kettering's team is advised by Dr. Greg Davis, professor of Mechanical Engineering. Team members are:

Joshua Briggs, Sodus, N.Y.,

Steve Brusie, North Branch, Mich.,

Team Leader Kurt Grabo, Broadview Hts., Ohio,

Joell Kroll, Montague, Mich.,

Mike Schippert, Freeland, Mich.,

Team Leader Bryce Thompson, Powell, Wyoming, and

Team Leader Greg Lazorcik, Cornwall, Penn.

The Challenge is a collegiate design competition of the Society of Automotive Engineers. Kettering's team competes in the Internal Combustion category, re-engineering a stock snowmobile to reduce emissions and noise while maintaining or boosting performance.

Thirteen teams are participating in the internal combustion division, with seven entered in a zero-emissions category. The internal combustion sleds are tested for noise, emissions and fuel economy. The internal combustion machines run on flex fuel with a wide range of ethanol content. Competitors aren't told what fuel they are using until after the Challenge.

The public is welcome to Grand Opening ceremonies on Tuesday, March 8, which culminate in the Endurance Run north to Michigan’s Copper Harbor. The public is also invited to the acceleration and handling events, on Saturday, March 12. Winners are announced at an awards banquet March 12.

Participating schools include Clarkson University of Potsdam, N.Y., Michigan Tech, North Dakota State University, the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, and the University of Wisconsin, Madison, which are each fielding an internal combustion and a zero emissions sled; Ecole De Technologie Superieure of Montreal, Kettering University of Flint, Northern Illinois University, State University of New York at Buffalo, the University of Idaho, the University of Maine, the University of Waterloo (Ont.), and the University of Wisconsin Platteville, internal combustion; and McGill University of Montreal and the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, zero emissions.

For more information, visit MTU Snowmobile