The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

TW Steel Hails Autosport Awards Successes

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Amsterdam, December 7, 2010: The international motorsport community assembled in London on Sunday night, 5th December, for the prestigious Autosport Awards with TW Steel, the Dutch watch brand specializing in oversized timepieces, once again enjoying its status as the ‘Official Watch Partner’ to the glittering affair hosted at the Grosvenor House Hotel in Park Lane.

A host of TW Steel’s brand ambassadors were present on the night including David Coulthard, Dario Franchitti, Lee McKenzie and Eddie Jordan. Coulthard was given the honour of presenting his fellow Scotsman, Franchitti, with the award for ‘British Competition Driver of the Year’ in recognition of Dario’s outstanding season in the IZOD IndyCar Series where he won his second ‘Indy 500’ and his third IndyCar Series Championship following title wins in 2007 and 2009.

They weren’t the only Scotsmen celebrating on the night however as the evening’s biggest prize, the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year, went to 21-year-old Lewis Williamson from Dundee.

The Formula Renault UK runner-up beat out five other finalists for the prize package which, in addition to winning his own specially engraved CE2003 from TW Steel’s luxurious CEO Tonneau range, included a cheque for 100,000 and a test in a McLaren Formula One car. Williamson also wins the opportunity to receive media training from Lee McKenzie as part of his prize, McKenzie specializing in this field in addition to her work as part of the BBC’s Formula One broadcast team.

All six finalists in the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year were presented on stage with their very own TW124 from TW Steel’s TECH collection.

“On behalf of TW Steel I would particularly like to congratulate the night’s big winners at the Autosport Awards,” said Harry Gibbings, TW Steel’s Head of Global Sponsorship. “It’s fantastic to see Dario Franchitti’s tremendous IndyCar season recognized in the form of him winning ‘British Competition Driver of the Year’. Likewise we’d also like to congratulate Lewis Williamson on becoming the latest winner of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. It’s a fantastic accomplishment and he’s certainly in great company when you consider the likes of David Coulthard and Dario Franchitti are previous winners!”