The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Motor Press Guild Selects 2010 Dean Batchelor Award Finalists

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

LOS ANGELES - November 1, 2010: The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) today announced its 2010 Dean Batchelor Award finalists. Established in 1995, the Dean Batchelor Award recognizes excellence in automotive journalism as exemplified by the man it is named after - Dean Batchelor.

The Award singles out individuals demonstrating outstanding achievement in the profession of automotive journalism. Each year MPG presents the Dean Batchelor Award to the journalist judged to have produced the single piece of work which best represents the professional standards and excellence demanded by Dean Batchelor during his life as an editor, writer, and chronicler of the automotive industry.

The winner of each category receives the MPG Best of the Year award in that category. The Dean Batchelor Award is then chosen from among the four category winners.

The 2010 finalists are:

Article Category

  • Coyote Beautiful, By Tom Wilson, 5.0 Mustangs & Super Fords, March 2010

  • Man In Space, By Arthur St. Antoine, Motor Trend Magazine, January 2010

  • The SL and Me, By Sam Posey, Road & Track Magazine, July 2010

Audio/Visual Category

  • 2010 Ford F150 Raptor, By Michael DeLano and Micah Muzio,, April 14, 2010

  • Hot Hatchbacks 2010, By Todd Deeken and Peter Schmucker,, July 29, 2010

  • Nissan GTR, By Todd Deeken and Peter Schmucker,, August 23, 2010

Book Category

  • Can-Am Cars in Detail, By Pete Lyons, David Bull Publishing

  • Wheels of Change, By Kevin Nelson, Heyday Books

  • Winning, The Racing Life of Paul Newman, By Matt Stone, MBI Publishing

Photography Category

  • Competition Plus, By Robert Genat, Mopar Magazine, Sept/Oct 2009

  • The Face of Drifting, By Allison (Al) Merion,, March 12, 2010

  • Future Vision, By Bruce Benedict, Road & Track Magazine, March 2010

The Best of the Year and Batchelor awards are given at the annual awards banquet, this year scheduled for December 7th at the Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles.

In addition, the Dean Batchelor Lifetime Achievement Award, selected separately by the Motor Press Guild Board of Directors, is presented on a case-by-case basis to individuals for outstanding contributions to the automotive communications industry.

The Dean Batchelor Award was first presented posthumously to Dean Batchelor in 1995 for his seminal book on hot rodding, The American Hot Rod, which was published after his death in 1994.

The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is the largest automotive media association in North America with more than 700 members. This non-profit trade guild is dedicated to promoting professionalism in automotive journalism through education and information exchange within the motoring press. Members include journalists from print, broadcast, visual and new-media outlets as well as public-relations representatives, consumer groups, and governmental bodies tied to the automotive industry. For more information visit, .