The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Corsa Ginetta-Zytek To Race As Hybrid At Lime Rock

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Lime Rock, July 14, 2009: Corsa Motorsports’ Ginetta-Zytek 09HS prototype will compete for the first time in hybrid configuration this weekend at Lime Rock Park for the American Le Mans Northeast Grand Prix. Officials with the FIA were more than satisfied with the performance and stability of the prototype’s battery pack.

The move officially makes the Ginetta-Zytek the first hybrid entry to compete in the American Le Mans Series.

“The car is homolagated - fully legal to race as a hybrid - and is no longer running as a conventional race car come Lime Rock,” confirmed Corsa crew chief Adrian Lindsey. “This has been a long time coming. We are excited to show people what we've been working on all these months.”

Johnny Mowlem and Stefan Johansson will drive the hybrid for Steve Pruitt’s Corsa Motorsports. The car was on display Monday at the U.S. Department of Energy in Washington DC; several hundred students from the National Academy Foundation and officials from the DOE spent time inspecting the car and heard an explanation from Pruitt on the groundbreaking battery technology the prototype employs, work that will pave the way for future passenger car innovation in consumer hybrids.

The DOE along with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and SAE International have recognized the Series as the first and only motorsports body to meet the criteria for “green racing.” All Series entries compete on street-legal alternative fuels: clean, low-sulfur diesel; E10; cellulosic E85; and hybrid power.

The American Le Mans Series, Michelin, the U.S. Department of Energy, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and SAE International also have jointly created the MICHELIN® Green X® Challenge, a revolutionary competition at all 2009 Series events which ranks all cars on overall performance, fuel efficiency and environmental impact.

Each round of the competition awards trophies to the top manufacturer and team in the Series' Prototype and Grand Touring classes, all competing on the same track at the same time.