The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

International Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Plans Finalized

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Tickets On Sale Now

TALLADEGA, Ala. January 27, 2009: Tickets are now available for the 2009 International Motorsports Hall of Fame (IMHOF) Induction Ceremony, scheduled for April 23, 2009 at the SPEED Channel Dome in Talladega, Ala. This year’s black-tie optional ceremony begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m. and the banquet and awards ceremony immediately following. The five inductees being honored are: J.C. Agajanian, Donnie Allison, Jerry Cook, Bud Moore and Raymond Parks.

Individual tickets are $125 and a table for eight may be reserved for $1,000 by calling 1-256-761-4755 or logging on to Visa, Mastercard and Discover are accepted.

In addition to the five inductees, NHRA Top Fuel champion Tony Schumacher will be on hand to accept his award as the 2008 Driver of the Year and 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series Champion Justin Allgaier will also be recognized during the ceremony.

“This is a very special group of inductees and honorees,” said Talladega Superspeedway President and IMHOF Executive Director Rick Humphrey. “Each of the inductees are legends in the motorsports world. Though their careers ended years ago, their legacies continue on to this day. Our special honorees, Tony Schumacher and Justin Allgaier, were both champions in 2008 and are creating their own legacies. The Induction Ceremony is the opportunity to see a blend of racing generations.”

About the inductees:

J.C. Agajanian (1913 – 1984) - Agajanian was a highly respected car owner and race promoter. He began as an owner at age 18 and went on to a highly successful career, having his cars set four track records and win the Indianapolis 500 twice, with drivers Troy Ruttman and Parnelli Jones.

Donnie Allison (1939 - ) - Allison is an original member of the “Alabama Gang” and 1967 NASCAR Grand National Rookie of the Year. Allison’s best career season came in 1970, when he won three races and claimed 10 top-five finishes in just 19 starts. Allison is also credited with a 1970 World 600 victory and a fourth place finish in the Indianapolis 500 the same month, taking the race’s Rookie of the Year honor. He is considered one of the best cross-over drivers in racing.

Jerry Cook (1939 - ) - Jerry Cook is one of only a handful of drivers ever to win more than five driving titles in a single racing division, capturing six NASCAR Modified championships during the 1970’s. During his run of championships, Cook finished in the top ten 81% of the time and the top five 60% of the time. After retiring in 1982, he became NASCAR’s full-time director of the Modifieds, the sanctioning body’s oldest circuit. Cook was named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers.

Bud Moore (1925 - ) - Moore was a car owner for some of the most successful drivers in NASCAR history. He won his first NASCAR Grand National championship as crew chief for Buck Baker in 1957. In 1961, Moore’s career jump started as a car owner for Joe Weatherly, when he won eight races that season. Moore went on to win two more championships with Weatherly behind the wheel. Dale Earnhardt, Darrell Waltrip and Donnie Allison are just three of the many notable drivers who drove for Moore. During his 37 years as a car owner, Moore won 63 races and his cars sat on the pole 43 times.

Raymond Parks (1914 - ) - Parks started his racing career as a car owner with driver Lloyd Seay. The pair won their first race in 1938 at a Lakewood, Ga. Speedway. After being called to duty in World War II, Parks had to shut down racing operations, but resumed again after being discharged in 1946. In 1949, Parks won the first ever NASCAR Grand National championship with Red Byron behind the wheel. Parks retired at the end of the 1951 season.

Opened in April of 1983, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum is dedicated to the preservation of the history of motorsports. Each year the annual International Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is held on the grounds of the Museum to honor those men and women chosen for induction from among the greatest names in all of motorsports. The 2009 Induction Ceremony will be held Thursday, April 23, at the SPEED Dome, adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame.