The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

ARCA Midget Results, Sandusky Speedway

In late-race charge, Miniea wins Sandusky ARCA/NAMARS Midgets

SANDUSKY OH (9-22-02) Travis Miniea passed Ryan Dolan with two laps
remaining to win the thrilling 30-lap ARCA Auto Value Midget Series
30-lap main event Sunday afternoon at Sandusky Speedway.

Shawn Stout, who started outside pole, grabbed the lead at the onset and
led 14 laps with Dolan challenging. Meanwhile, Miniea, who started 12th,
was already working his way towards the front when Dolan passed Stout
for the lead on lap 15. Dolan held on for 14 laps before Miniea made his
winning pass to lead the final two circuits.

Three-time ARCA Auto Value Midget champion Gene Lee Gibson raced from
the fifth starting spot to second in the final running order in front of
current point leader Dave Baumgartner who finished a solid third. Dolan
fell back to fourth while Kyle Carpenter finished fifth.

Old Milwaukee Quick Time Award winner Howie Bumpus finished sixth ahead
of Stout who held on for seventh. Matt Brun, Phil Rutledge and Ryan
Gillenwater completed the top-10 finishers respectively.

   Sandusky Speedway, 9-22-02
   Official Results

1 12 77 Travis Miniea/Sharon PA Penn-Ohio Self Storage Esslinger Hawk 30
2 5 0 Gene Lee Gibson/Richwood OH Gilmore Construction-Gilliland Body
Shop Gibson 30 Running
3 1 38 Dave Baumgartner/Ottawa Lake MI Weld Wheels-Simpson-Autocraft
Hawk 30 Running
4 7 15 Ryan Dolan NAMARS 30 Running
5 9 12 Kyle Carpenter NAMARS 30 Running
6 6 2 Howie Bumpus NAMARS 30 Running
7 2 7 Shawn Stout NAMARS 30 Running
8 13 28 Matt Brun/New Carlisle OH Auto Value Service Centers-Valvoline
Brayton Hawk 30 Running
9 11 97 Phil Rutledge/Troy MI The Vette Shop Pontiac Rutledge 30 Running

10 8 20 Ryan Gillenwater/Barberton OH 5th St NAPA Autocare-NE Auto
Autocraft Hawk 30 Running
11 10 46 Adam Schuyler/Yorktown IN A&E Environmental VW White 29 Running

12 3 71 Chris Hettinger/Grand Blanc MI United Cable Construction-Penske
Shocks Ford 28 Accident
13 4 2 Gary Harrell/Temperance MI Dove Racing Autocraft Hawk 12 Tire
14 14 15 Sondi Eden/Crawfordsville IN B&R Fire-Schloot Furniture Brayton
Chevy 2 Handling
  47 Jason Fuller/Findlay OH Fuller Motorsports

   OLD MILWAUKEE QUICK TIME AWARD:  Howie Bumpus 17.67 seconds
   HEAT RACE WINNERS:  Gene Lee Gibson, Kyle Carpenter
   LAP LEADERS:  Stout 1-14 (14); Dolan 15-28 (14); Miniea 29-30 (2)