The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Cummins Inc.: Winners of the 2001 Dr. Julius P. Perr Innovation Award Announced

    COLUMBUS, Ind.--Jan. 8, 2002--Cummins Inc. announced today the presentation of the prestigious Dr. Julius P. Perr Innovation Award.
    Each year Cummins presents the Dr. Julius P. Perr Innovation Award as part of its employee recognition program. The award was designed to recognize the innovative contributions made by Cummins technical professionals. The award was named for Dr. Julius P. Perr, a Cummins engineer who is credited with more than 65 U.S. Patents. Throughout his nearly 40-year tenure with the company's fuel system division, Dr. Perr invented several key technologies, which helped Cummins take a leadership role in the diesel engine manufacturing industry.
    The winners of the 2001 Perr Award are Richard D. Hercamp of Columbus, Indiana and R. Douglas Hudgens of Cookeville, Tennessee for their invention of a diesel coolant additive package. Their invention, known as DCA-4, involved three years of work and resulted in an additive package that dramatically reduced heat transfer problems associated with hard water and also reduced oil/fuel contamination. DCA-4 has been the recommended coolant additive chemistry for Cummins' engines and has been the basis of the commercial product "Compleat", which has been one of the most successful heavy-duty engine antifreeze/coolants over the past 10 years. Cummins' Chief Technical Officer, John Wall, presented the award today at the Cummins Technical Center in Columbus, Indiana. Also in attendance were Tim Solso, Chairman and CEO, and Joe Loughrey, Executive Vice President and President, Engine Business.
    The runners-up for the 2001 Perr Award are John H. Stang of Columbus, IN, Peter J. Griffen of Darlington, England, John R. McDaniel of Columbus, IN and Paul Rabe of Columbus, IN for their invention of a variable power drivetrain engine control system. This system, which was later designated as Electronic Smart Power (ESP), advanced the concept of an engine running on a low power rating until the terrain dictated that the additional power of a high power rating was required. The ESP product won the prestigious Truck Writer's of North America award in 1992 and was the basis for development of the Vocational Smart Power (VSP) and Smart Torque (ST) technologies. There are approximately 100,000 ESP engines in service today.
    To be eligible for the Perr Award an invention must be patented and one or more of the inventors must be an active employee or retiree. An internal nomination and selection process determines the winners and runners-up. For the 2001 award, corporate wide, 162 eligible inventions were screened and 21 candidates were identified.
    Cummins, headquartered in Columbus, IN, is the world's largest producer of commercial diesel engines above 50 horsepower. The company provides products and services for customers in markets worldwide for engines, power generation and filtration. Cummins reported sales of $6.6 billion in 2000. Press releases by fax may be requested by calling New on Demand (toll free) at 888-329-2305. Cummins home page on the internet can be found at