The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer
Drivers Dinner Logo


Get Windows Media Player

Use the Free Windows Media Player to view this show.

  View This Years Event (January 14, 2000)  

Since 1975 one of motorsport's BIGGEST events has taken place in, of all places, Chicago, in the middle of winter. The annual mid-January dinner event honors all the champions of America's major auto racing series.

The dinner's attendance list of both honorees and guests is a Who's Who from all areas of the motorsports community. The BIGGEST NAMES IN MOTORSPORTS from the world of U.S. auto racing including: NASCAR Winston Cup, NASCAR Busch, the CART/PPG Indy Car World Series, (IROC) International Race Of Champions, (NHRA) National Hot Rod Association, (IRL) Indy Racing League, World of Outlaws and the Champions of the Indianapolis 500 and Daytona 500 by STP join long time emcee's Ken Squier and Paul Page to be honored with many other stars of the sport in attendance. There is also a special Chicagoland Merit Award presented to a deserving recipient from the Chicagoland motorsports community.

The awards dinner also includes an Autograph Alley presented by Valvoline with driver autograph sessions and show cars on display which takes place prior to the dinner and a live and silent auction which take place during and after dinner.

It is always an evening to remember. Thanks you in advance for your interest in this most worthy fundraising event which provides educational benefits and recreation opportunities for disadvantaged children who live in the Lathrop Homes, a Chicago Public Housing Project.

Ticket donations are sold per person, per Table of Ten, by Patron's Table, and Champion's Table. Proceeds directly benefit the Boys & Girls Clubs of Chicago - Daniel A. Cotter Club. To purchase your tickets throughout the year or for more information call Sue Potenza at (312) 695-5593 fax at (312) 695-6527.

Dinner Facts and Historical Information

The dinner was conceived and founded in 1975 by Dan Cotter, President and CEO of Cotter & Company. Dan got the idea while traveling in England, having attended a similar charity event. The first driver's recognition dinner was held at Cathedral Hall in the University Club of Chicago and was attended by 72 race fans. Cotter & Company's national headquarters was previously located on the north side of Chicago near the oldest public housing project in the city, the Julia C. Lathrop Homes. Acting as a good neighbor, Cotter & Company has been instrumental in the funding of the local chapter of the Boys & Girls Clubs at the Julia C. Lathrop Unit since 1962. The Boys & Girls Club Lathrop unit was renamed The Daniel A. Cotter Boys & Girls Club in 1997.

Each year the driver's recognition dinner raises over $ 125,000.00 for the club.

True Serve, the retail identity of Cotter & Company, is a NASCAR Series sponsor.

Past Driver Honorees include;
Bobby Allison
Davey Allison
Joe Amato
Mario Andretti
Jack Baldwin
Johnny Benson
Kenny Bernstein
Gary Bettenhausen
Mike Bliss
Geoff Bodine
Geoff Brabham
Wally Dallenbach
Dale Earnhardt
Bill Elliott
Emerson Fittapaldi
John Force
A.J. Foyt
Harry Gant
David Green
Steve Grissom
Jeff Gordon
Hurley Haywood
Eddie Hill
David Hobbs
Al Holbert
Warren Johnson
Gordon Johncock
Scott Kaletta
Tommy Kendall
Alan Kulwicki
Terry Labonte
Randy LaJoie
Arie Luyendyke
Sterling Marlin
Mark Martin
Rick Mears
Gary Ormby
John Paul Jr
Cruz Pedregon
Ed Pimm
Scott Pruett
Bobby Rahal
Brian Redman
Chip Robinson
Ricky Rudd
Johnny Rutherford
Dorsey Schroeder
Scott Sharp
Jimmy Sill
Tom Sneva
Tony Stewart
Danny Sullivan
Al Unser Jr
Al Unser Sr
Jacques Villeneuve
Rusty Wallace
Darrell Waltrip
Cale Yarborough