The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

AMA: Kurtis Roberts captures 600 Supersport Championship

3 October 2000

2000 AMA Roadracing series, Willow Springs International Raceway, Rosamond,
California, September 30 - October 1, 2000

I. Pro Honda Oils 600 SuperSport Series, Round 9

Erion Racing's Kurtis Roberts forced his way past both series points leader Eric
Bostrom and Jamie Hacking in the second-to-last turn of the last lap to not only
win the finale but also win the series championship on his CBR600F4.  Trailing
in third place after leading much of the race, Robert's move capped the most
exciting race of the nine-race season.

"I've been sick this week so having to lead so many laps and force myself to go
fast wore me down with about five laps to go," explained Roberts. Bostrom ran up
on Hacking going into turn eight and went to the outside. That was the opening
that Roberts needed, and he suddenly ran his Rick Hobbs/Danny Hull/Masahiro
Iizuka-prepared F4 up the inside of both rivals. "It was the only thing I could
do so I had to do it. I knew there was room there. I figured I was going to win
or all three of us were probably going to be in the dirt.

"From Daytona on," added Roberts, "I've said I wanted to win this championship.
That was my shot to win the championship."

Bostrom and Roberts actually ended up tied in final points, with Roberts earning
the title -- his second of the year to go along with his Formula Xtreme crown --
by virtue of his three wins compared to Bostrom's two.  Roberts' first 600
championship marks the eighth for Honda in the class.

Willow Springs AMA/Pro Honda Oils 600 SuperSport Results, Top Finishers

1. Kurtis Roberts-Honda

2. Jamie Hacking-Yamaha

3. Eric Bostrom-Kawasaki

4. Nicky Hayden-Honda

5. Miguel Duhamel-Honda

8. Jake Zemke-Honda

31. Josh Hayes-Honda

AMA/Pro Honda Oils 600 SuperSport Series Final Point Standings, Top Riders

1. Kurtis Roberts-Honda-276 points

2. Eric Bostrom-Kawasaki-276 points

3. Jamie Hacking-Yamaha-248 points

4. Tommy Hayden-Yamaha-239 points

5. Miguel Duhamel-Honda-238 points

8. Jake Zemke-Honda-179 points

11. Nicky Hayden-Honda-156 points

12. Josh Hayes-Honda-156 points

II. Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike Championship, Round 12

Team Honda's Nicky Hayden picked up his fourth win of the season in the
AMA/Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike Championship, leading from the fifth lap to the
finish at Willow Springs International Raceway on his Dan Fahey/Davey
Jones/Merlyn Plumlee-tuned RC51. Hayden's quartet of winner's trophies matched
defending champ Mat Mladin's victory total, but it wasn't enough to dethrone the
Australian, who rode a relatively conservative pace to finish the race in eighth
place. Since Mladin led Hayden by 19 points going into the finale, that was
enough to secure the championship for Mladin, 388-383. Teammate Miguel Duhamel
retired on lap six with bike problems.

Hayden's victory established a new race record, his 34:08.280 breaking Duhamel's
25-lap time of 34:13.090 set en route to his win two years ago. His win also
gives Honda its fourth Superbike victory at Willow in five races.

"I'm really happy with the race, that we finished the year with a win," Hayden
exclaimed. "To get a win and get to build on this for next year, hopefully we
can keep the momentum going. All in all, I think it was a pretty good year." And
since this was his first season in the Superbike class, that's fair warning for
the competition.

Willow Springs AMA/Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike Results, Top Finishers

1. Nicky Hayden-Honda

2. John Kocinski-Ducati

3. Steve Rapp-Ducati

4. Aaron Yates-Suzuki

5. Eric Bostrom-Kawasaki

20. Miguel Duhamel-Honda

AMA/Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike Championship Final Point Standings, Top Riders

1. Mat Mladin-Suzuki-388 points

2. Nicky Hayden-Honda-383 points

3. Aaron Yates-Suzuki-348 points

4. Eric Bostrom-Kawasaki-336 points

5. Doug Chandler-Kawasaki-275 points

9. Miguel Duhamel-Honda-248 points

III. Formula Xtreme Series, Round 8

Bruce Transportation Group's Jake Zemke rode to a seemingly effortless victory
at the final round of the Formula Xtreme Series on his Erion Racing-backed Honda
CBR929RR at Willow Springs Raceway on Saturday. In winning for the first time,
Zemke took the checkered flag 5.459 seconds ahead of the runner-up, Erion
Racing's Josh Hayes on another 929, marking Hayes' fourth second-place finish of
the season. Erion Racing's Kurtis Roberts did not compete, having already
clinched the class championship in the previous race in Colorado Springs.
Zemke's win put him closer to Roberts in the final point standings, finishing
second overall while Hayes finished third in points -- a Honda sweep for the
new-for-2000 CBR929RR.

Willow Springs AMA/ Formula Xtreme Results, Top Finishers

1. Jake Zemke-Honda

2. Josh Hayes-Honda

3. Vincent Haskovec-Yamaha

4. Mark Miller-Yamaha

5. Grant Lopez-Suzuki

AMA/ Formula Xtreme Series Final Point Standings, Top Riders

1. Kurtis Roberts-Honda-254 points

2. Jake Zemke-Honda-233 points

3. Josh Hayes-Honda-222 points

4. Grant Lopez-Suzuki-191 points

5. Steve Grigg-Kawasaki-186 points