The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Campbell, Windham, and Edwards savor Honda victories

23 May 2000

2000 Best in the Desert Silver State Series, Round 3: Tonopah 300, Tonopah,
Nevada, May 19-21, 2000

Team Honda's Johnny Campbell and Tim Staab started out front on their booming
XR650R and stayed there to win the Tonopah 300, round three of the Best in the
Desert's Silver State Series. It marked the first win in the series this year
for Campbell and Staab, who already have a win in the only SCORE race run so
far, and comes after a sixth-place finish in Best in the Desert's round one and
a runner-up in round two. Fellow Red Riders Steve Hengeveld and Jonah Street
backed them up on their XR650R with a fourth-place finish.

Round 4 of the series will be the grueling Nevada 2000, scheduled in Las Vegas,
Nevada on July 8-15.

BITD Tonopah 300 Top-5 Finishers

1. Johnny Campbell/Tim Staab-Honda-4:40:26

2. Destry Abbott/Brian Brown-Kawasaki-4:41:08

3, Shane Esposito/David Ondas-Kawasaki-4:45:57

4. Steve Hengeveld/Jonah Street-Honda-4:47:36

5. Ty Davis/Russell Pearson-Yamaha-4:50:35

2000 AMA/Chevy Trucks 250cc U.S. Motocross Championship, Round 2: Prairie City
SVRA, Sacramento, California, May 21, 2000

A victory in the second moto and a fourth-place finish in moto one earned Team
Honda's Kevin Windham second place Sunday at the annual Hangtown Motocross
Classic at Prairie City State Vehicular Recreation Area outside of Sacramento,
California. Overall, Honda Red Riders filled three of the top five spots in the
250cc class.

David Vuillemin won the event thanks to his 2-2 day. Honda$B!G(Bs Sebastien Tortelli
turned in a consistent 3-3 score for third overall to maintain second in series
points while Team Amsoil/Factory Connection/Jack in the Box-backed Mike LaRocco
claimed fifth with his 5-6 day. Red Rider Ezra Lusk rode his factory Honda to
eighth overall with a pair of eighth-place finishes in only his second race of
the year after sitting out the entire Supercross season due to a shoulder
injury. Windham$B!G(Bs performance moved him up to fourth in series points.

Round 3 will be at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania on Sunday, May

Hangtown Motocross 250-class Top Overall Finishers (With Moto Finishes)

1. David Vuillemin - Yamaha - 2-2

2. Kevin Windham - Honda - 4-1

3. Ricky Carmichael - Kawasaki - 1-4

4. Sebastien Tortelli - Honda - 3-3

5. Mike LaRocco - Honda - 5-6

8. Ezra Lusk - Honda - 8-8

AMA/Chevy Trucks U.S. Motocross Championships 250-class Point Standings, Top

1. Ricky Carmichael - Kawasaki - 93 points

2. Sebastien Tortelli - Honda - 84 points

3. David Vuillemin - Yamaha - 80 points

4. Kevin Windham - Honda - 78 points

5. Greg Albertyn - Suzuki - 66 points

6. Mike LaRocco - Honda - 58 points

7. Ezra Lusk - Honda - 52 points

2000 FIM World Superbike Championship, Round 4: Autodromo Nazionale Monza,
Monza, Italy, May 21, 2000

Castrol Honda's Colin Edwards put his Honda RC51 squarely the head of the World
Superbike Championship series with a win and a second place in the two races
held at Monza, Italy on Sunday, May 21. Edwards won the second race of the day
after following Pier-Francesco Chili across the line in the opening affair.
Edward's teammate, Aaron Slight, continues his brave recovery from brain surgery
just three months ago, taking a fifth and a seventh in the two 18-lap races.

Round 6 of the World Superbike Series moves to Hockenheim-Ring, Hockenheim,
Germany on Sunday, June 4.

Monza World Superbike, Race One, Top Finishers

1. Pier-Francesco Chili - Suzuki

2. Colin Edwards II - Honda

3. Akira Yanagawa - Kawasaki

4. Troy Bayliss - Ducati

5. Aaron Slight - Honda

Monza World Superbike, Race Two, Top Finishers

1. Colin Edwards II - Honda

2. Pier-Francesco Chili - Suzuki

3. Akira Yanagawa - Kawasaki

4. Troy Bayliss - Ducati

5. Noriyuki Haga - Yamaha

7. Aaron Slight - Honda

WSC Points Standings

1. Colin Edwards II - Honda - 164 points

2. Noriyuki Haga - Yamaha - 141 points

3. Pier-Francesco Chili - Suzuki - 140 points

4. Troy Corser - Ducati - 95 points

5. Akira Yanagawa - Kawasaki - 79 points

13. Aaron Slight - Honda - 36 points