'Most Likely to Succeed' 2000 Automotive Awards at NAIAS

13 January 2000

American Woman Motorscene Announces Winners, 'Most Likely to Succeed' 2000 Automotive Awards at NAIAS
    DETROIT, Jan. 12 -- American Woman Motorscene magazine
announced the winners of the "Top 10 Most Likely to Succeed" awards today at
its fourth annual automotive awards ceremony at the North American
International Auto Show.  The awards honor new 2000 model entries or existing
models with significant changes in design or technology in 10 categories.
Winners of AWM's Class of 2000 awards are:

                        "CLASS OF 2000" AWARD WINNERS

    *  Most Likely to Succeed (Top Honor) - Jaguar S-Type
    *  Most Likely to Survive Anything (Sport Utility Vehicle) -
        Ford Excursion
    *  Most Wanted (Sports Car) - Honda S2000
    *  Most Sex Appeal (Exotic) - Porsche Boxster S
    *  Most Likely to Be Remembered (Classic) - Audi TT
    *  Most Athletic (Pick-up Truck) - Nissan Frontier
    *  Most Likely to Inspire Leadership (Luxury) - Mercedes Benz S-Class
    *  Most Vivacious Personality (Entry Level) - Ford Focus
    *  Most Likely to Change the World (Electric/Alternative Fuel) -
        Honda Insight
    *  Most Versatile Team Player (Minivan) - Mazda MPV

    "AWM's 'Top 10' are the vehicles to watch this year," says Courtney
Caldwell, editor-in-chief of American Woman Motorscene.  "These cars and
trucks have that perfect combination of style, safety, performance and
practicality our readers look for when selecting a new vehicle.  Plus they are
fun and exciting to drive."
    The goal of the annual AWM automotive awards is not only to select
vehicles that are best in their class, but also to remind automakers that
purchases are based on emotion, personality and lifestyle.  "Women are
responsible for more than half of all new vehicles purchased," says Caldwell.
"That represents an $83 billion market for automakers, one reason why the AWM
awards have captured the attention of industry leaders."
    VIPs attending this year's event included Secretary of State Candice S.
Miller; Mayor Michael A. Guido of Dearborn, Mich.; Larry D. Yost, chairman of
the board and CEO, Meritor; Richard Beattie, president and CEO, Mazda NAO;
Frederick J. Schwab, President & CEO, Porsche NA; Michael H. Dale, president,
Jaguar North America; and Alasdair Stewart, CEO, Rolls Royce.
    Sponsors of the event include General Motors Corporation; AM 760 WJR
Radio; Ford Motor Company; Mazda NAO; Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep; Audi of America;
Globalstar USA; Johnson Controls; Jaguar NA; Meritor Automotive, Inc.;
Mitsubishi of America, Inc.; Nissan NA, Inc.; Saab Cars USA, Inc.; Wyndham
Hotels & Resorts; WomenCONNECT.com; American Honda; Delphi Automotive Systems;
Lear Corporation; Porsche Cars NA; and Volvo Cars of NA.

    For more information, please call Tricia Landrum at 248-262-8100 or visit
http://www.americanwomanmag.com .

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to Editor-in-Chief@theautochannel.com.

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to submit@theautochannel.com.
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: http://www.theautochannel.com/