The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

AMA: MBNA Pays First Round Superbike Tour Bonuses

12 May 1998

WESTERVILLE, Ohio -- Kawasaki's Doug Chandler and Suzuki's Mat Mladin are the big winners in the first round of the 1998 MBNA Superbike Tour championship bonuses, which have been distributed to the top 20 Superbike riders following the April 19, Honda Challenge of Laguna Seca.

Currently tied for first place in points, co-leaders Chandler and Mladin take home $5,000 and $4,000 respectively from the $30,000 American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) MBNA Superbike Tour Championship Bonus Awards program. Other top money-earners from the first round of MBNA bonuses include Vance & Hines Ducati rider Anthony Gobert, winner of the opening round at Phoenix, earning $3,000; Honda-mounted Ben Bostrom, $2,000; and Fast by Ferracci Ducati-mounted Tom Kipp, $1,700.

MBNA Superbike bonuses will be paid out in two additional segments over the course of the 1998 season. The second segment will begin with a clean slate at the May 3 event at Sears Point Raceway. Points from May 3 through the New Hampshire International Raceway event on June 21, will be tabulated for the second round of MBNA Superbike bonuses, when another $30,000 will be divided among the top twenty riders.

The third and final round of bonuses, $40,000, will be paid to the riders earning the most points beginning with the July 17 MBNA Superbike Tour event at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio, through the season finale at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, October 3-4.

Following are the first round of 1998 MBNA Superbike bonus award recipients:

Pos.	Rider, Hometown	Mach.	Amount
1	Doug Chandler, Salinas, CA	Kawasaki	$5,000
2	Mat Mladin, Australia, 	Suzuki	$4,000
3	Anthony Gobert, Australia, 	Ducati	$3,000
4	Ben Bostrom, Granada Hills, CA	Honda	$2,000
5	Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH	Ducati	$1,700
6	Miguel Duhamel, Repentigny, PQ, Canada	Honda	$1,600
7	Jamie Hacking, Spartanburg, SC	Yamaha	$1,500
8	Aaron Yates, Milledgeville, GA	Suzuki	$1,400
9	Thomas Wilson Jr., Oregon, OH	Harley-Davidson	$1,300
10	Larry Pegram, Baltimore, OH	Suzuki	$1,200
11	Steve Crevier, Pitt Meadows, BC, Canada	Suzuki	$1,100
12	Tommy Hayden, Owensboro, KY	Kawasaki	$1,000
13	Richard Oliver, Fresno, CA	Yamaha	$950
14	Thomas Stevens, Woodstock, GA	Ducati	$900
15	James Randolph, Santa Rosa, CA	Suzuki	$850
16	Pascal Picotte, Repentigny, PQ, Canada	Harley-Davidson	$500
17	Michael Hale, Carrollton, TX	Ducati	$500
18	Rad Greaves, Ann Arbor, MI	Suzuki	$500
19	Scott Russell, Conyers, GA	Yamaha	$500
20	Jamie James, Marshall, NC	Harley-Davidson	$500