ASA ACDelco Challenge Weidner Chevrolet Anderson 400: Report and Results

18 August 1997

Anderson, IN - Gary St Amant, of Columbus, OH, held off a hard charging Rick Beebe and Bob Senneker to become the second three-time winner in 1997 on the American Speed Association, ACDelco Challenge Series at Anderson Speedway, IN in the Weidner Chevrolet Anderson 400.

St Amant used good pit strategy to give him the advantage, stopping only one time for service as he led 253 of the 400 laps. St Amant took the Wynns/Western Michigan Chevy Dealers Monte Carlo into the lead for the final time on lap 302 and then held off the challenge of Rick Beebe over the closing laps to record the victory.

Scott Hansen, of Concord, NC, Put the Ken Schrader Racing Chevrolet on the pole with a time of 12.098 seconds around the tight 1/4 mile Anderson Speedway and took the early lead in the race. Mike Eddy, who started the GM Goodwrench Service Plus/HRE Pontiac on the outside of the front row, passed Hansen and took his turn on the point on lap 39 and continued to hold the lead until St Amant took over on lap 64. St Amant would continue to pace the field until lap 218 when Beebe was able to slide under him coming off turn two and take the lead.

ASA officials threw a "Competition Yellow" on lap 232 after 100 laps of continuous green flag racing and St Amant made his only pit stop of the race taking on right side tires. ACDelco Challenge Series points leader Kevin Cywinski, who had taken the lead just before the yellow flag, won the race out of the pits and continued to lead until St Amant tracked him down and retook the point on lap 302. Although Beebe would mount a challenge over the final 20 laps, the Columbus, OH driver was able to stay out front and take the checkered flag .251 seconds ahead. Bob Senneker made a late run into third with Joe Nott fourth and Cywinski fifth.

With the win, St Amant was able to close the points gap to 221 markers with seven races remaining on the ASA tour this season. The ASA returns to action this Sunday, August 24th for the running of the TRAK AUTO 200 from the Milwaukee Mile Speedway in West Allis, WI.

John Kaiser -- The Auto Channel

Anderson Speedway - Provisional results for the 
ASA ACDelco Challenge Series, 
Weidner Chevrolet Anderson 400:
Ps.Ql.No.  Driver , Car                                          Laps  
-- -- ---- ----------------------------------------------------- ----- 
 1  5   7  Gary St Amant   Wynn's/W Michigan Chevy Dealers  CHEV 400       
 2  4  23  Rick Beebe      St Louis Gear/Royal Machine      PONT 400       
 3 14  84  Bob Senneker    Lane Auto/JR Automation/Mr GasketFORD 400       
 4 13  48  Joe Nott        Valvoline/Allan Nott Toyota/RaabeFORD 400       
 5  8   1  Kevin Cywinski  Coleman Racing Products          PONT 400       
 6 18  55  Tim Sauter (R)  Leo M/S/Wehr/Racing Adventures   PONT 399       
 7  2  88  Mike Eddy       GM Goodwrench Service/HRE        PONT 398       
 8 16  51  Brandon Sperling Sperling Motorsports            CHEV 398       
 9 19  32  Ted Smokstad    Corp. Auto/SMS Parts             PONT 391       
10  9  33  Brad Loney      Bunsaver/Hunter's Spec/Flexsteel PONT 390       
11 25   0  Tom Jones       Jones Motorsports                PONT 387       
12 27  93  Alec Pinsonneault Build-A-Mold/Trimplas/Moldplas PONT 376       
13 22  11  Doug Mayr(R)    No Touch Car Care/Aqua Splash    CHEV 374       
14  6  07  Jack Landis     Adirondak/Lyndaker/Maisto/N.YoderFORD 366       
15  7   8  Mike Garvey     AFCO Racing Products             PONT 357       
16 17  81  Harold Fair     Car Quest/ACDelco/Victor Reinz   PONT 351       
17  3  18  Mike Miller     South East Air Service           PONT 320       
18 15  26  Bill Baird      Spee-Dee Pop Popcorn/Saturn Mach CHEV 272       
19  1  52  Scott Hansen    AFCO Racing Products             PONT 264       
20 24  86  Aaron Hough     Lee's Inn and Suites             PONT 262       
21 11  87  Steve Carlson(R)Baker Enterprises/Clean Burn     PONT 257       
22 26  58  Billy Turner    Sanifill/Central Fiber           PONT 222       
23 12   6  Dave Sensiba    Engineered Polymer/W MI Auto AuctPONT 208       
24 23  66  Kurt Hough (R)  New Plaestine Drywall            PONT 161       
25 21  79  Mike Cofer (R)  Black & Decker Versa Pack        PONT 152       
26 28  16  Fred Ricart     1-800-DEAL-USA                   FORD  98       
27 10   5  Steve Holzhausen Structural Transport            FORD  89       
28 20  72  Junior Hanley   Skillman Motorsports             PONT  83       
(R)= Pat Schauer Memorial Rookie Candidate
Time of Race      : 1 hr 53 mins 53 secs
Average Speed     : 54.111 mph
Margin of Victory : .251 secs
Lap Leaders       : Hansen, Eddy, St Amant, Beebe, Cywinski
Fastest Lap       : Hansen, lap 3: 12.228 secs/73.602 mph
Cautions          : 11 for 74 laps
Track Length      :  0.2500 Miles

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: