Caught Drinkin' and Drivin' In California is a Ten Grand Hit
The Auto Club of Southern California says before you think about drinking and driving this holiday season, heed this: a first time DUI could cost as much as $10,878, and that's a lot of six packs.
It goes down like this:
Court fine: $390 Penalties: $663 Impound $150 Alcohol class: $375 Lawyer $2,500 DMV license $100 Higher insurance $6,600 State education fund $100
The AAA says you could have used this dough to buy 20 months of groceries.
Bill Maloney -- The Auto Channel