Volvo Technology Award 2014


April 3, 2014: Volvo Dynamic Steering makes the truck driver’s job both safer and more comfortable. Now six of the people behind the unique system have received the Volvo Technology Award 2014, which was handed over by President and CEO Olof Persson at AB Volvo’s annual general meeting yesterday (April 2nd)

“Volvo Dynamic Steering elevates the steering of heavy commercial vehicles to an entirely new level. This technology gives the driver better control over the vehicle and makes the working conditions much easier. Thanks to first-class engineering work we are the first vehicle manufacturer in the world to be able to offer customers this sort of system,” says Olof Persson.

An electronically-controlled electric motor attached to the steering shaft is the unique innovation in Volvo Dynamic Steering. The electric motor works together with the hydraulic power steering to make light work of manoeuvring the truck. The system makes the truck much lighter to steer at low speeds; irregularities in the road surface are effectively filtered out and at high speed the truck benefits from better directional stability. The system also self-centres the steering wheel in all situations - even when reversing.

Volvo Dynamic Steering is available on Volvo FH, FH16, FM and most FMX trucks. The technology is demonstrated in two recent YouTube films – ‘The Hamster Stunt’ and the hugely-popular ‘The Epic Split’ starring Jean-Claude Van Damme. In the latter, Volvo Dynamic Steering allows the two truck drivers to reverse with immense precision; first, they maintain exactly the same distance from each other and then they slowly move apart.

“The job of the electric motor is to create the perfect steering feel. Sensors monitor what the driver wants to do and the control unit automatically adjusts the steering to suit the current situation, ensuring that the driver is not distracted by road irregularities making their way through to the steering wheel,” says Jan-Inge Svensson, one of the engineers behind the development of Volvo Dynamic Steering.

The other prize-winners are Håkan Andersson, Gustav Neander, Sten Ragnhult, Kristoffer Tagesson and Henrik Wiberg.

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: