Chevrolet Corvette Team Receives the 2014 Golden Gear Award

chevrolet corvette

WASHINGTON--March 14, 2014: At its Annual Gala, the Washington Automotive Press Association (WAPA) presented the Golden Gear Award to the team responsible for the development of the 2014 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray. The award was accepted on the team's behalf by Stacy Summers, District Sales Manager for Northern Virginia and Washington, D.C., for Chevrolet.

"The new Corvette is the quintessential American performance car," said WAPA President Melanie Batenchuk, editor of Be Car Chic. "From its powerful and efficient small-block V8, to its lightweight construction, the 2014 Corvette showcases the best of 21st century automotive technology wrapped in a shell that evokes the '63 Sting Ray. We felt that the team managed to breathe new life into the C7 in a way that both embraced the model's storied past and invited drivers to dream about its future."

"On behalf of the Corvette team, I'd like to thank WAPA for the Golden Gear Award," said Russ Clark, Director of Marketing, Mid-size, Performance, and Compact Utilities for Chevrolet. "The Corvette Stingray delivers world class technology and performance by every measure and breaks new ground visually, while remaining instantly recognizable as a Corvette. It truly lives up to its iconic legacy."

The WAPA Annual Gala, held at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. brings together auto journalists, manufacturer and industry representatives from all over the country. For nearly 30 years, WAPA has presented its Golden Gear Award to honor an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the automotive industry. Since 2009, the Golden Gear has been awarded in memory of WAPA founding member and legendary automotive journalist John Lynker. An occasional newspaper columnist and magazine contributor, Lynker anchored Washington's WTOP radio station for more than 20 years.

Prior recipients of the Golden Gear Award include Scott Keogh of Audi; John Krafcik of Hyundai; Roger Penske; J.D. Power; Carroll Shelby; Robert Lutz of General Motors; Carlos Ghosn of Nissan; Henrik Fisker; and John W. Hetrick, designer of the patented airbag.

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: