Hankook Tyre Australia to Sponsor SA Time Attack

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

MELBOURNE – Sept 24, 2013: Continuing its support of Australian motorsport across a number of categories, Hankook Tyre Australia is the naming rights sponsor of the inaugural 2013 SA Time Attack.

Organised by the Mitsubishi GSR/Evo Club and supported by SA Motorsport Tyres, following its support of the Victorian and NSW Time Attack events in 2013, Hankook Competition will be the naming rights sponsor for the South Australian event.

The Hankook SA Time Attack is a state-based series that will entice the fastest locals and interstaters to contest the three classes, in which will be two different types of tyre construction; the Hankook SA Time Attack will be held around Mallala Motorsport Park’s technical and demanding 2.6km circuit.

Like the other state series, the Hankook SA Time Attack competition will be based around a competitor’s fastest timed single lap over the course of the day’s five-and-a-half hours of open track time, with the three classes offering a level of competitiveness for varying states of vehicle modification.

The Street Class is the entry level category, and the vehicle must be street registered and fitted with street tyres, such as Hankook’s competition-developed street tyre, the Ventus Z222 R-S3. The R-S3 has won numerous time attack and competition titles around the world since its introduction in 2011. Its construction, compound and performance is ideal for the Street Class, but complemented by its wet-weather grooves and perfect suitability for everyday street use.

The Club Class has more freedom for modifications, and is ultimately limited by a lap time of 1m:15secs; it also allows for a semi-slick R compound type tyre, such as Hankook’s Ventus TD Z221. Placing first, second and third at the 2012 World Time Attack in the Open class, along with wins at the 2012 Victorian and NSW Time Attack events, the Z221 tyre has proven extremely popular not just in Time Attack, but also tarmac rally, winning the 2012 Showroom Targa Championship, and in circuit racing, being the official control tyre of the testing 2013 Australian Manufacturers Championship.

The Open Class, also using the same tyre of R-spec tyre such as the Ventus TD Z221, allows much greater freedom of vehicle modifications, such as mandated roll cages and greater freedoms in aerodynamics and improved safety equipment.

The Hankook SA Time Attack will also feature a Top Ten Shootout, a one-lap dash for the ten fastest cars of the day across all three classes, offering a chance for any car to win the Shootout. The winner is determined by the largest lap-time improvement over a competitor’s fastest time during the day’s normal competition.

Off-track there will also be a Show & Shine component to the event, where the winner will earn a $250 voucher from SA Motorsport Tyres.

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to Editor-in-Chief@theautochannel.com.

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to submit@theautochannel.com.
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: http://www.theautochannel.com/