Gary Harms, Walmart's Professional Truck Driver Takes Home the Prize

ata (select to view enlarged photo)

Walmart Transportation's Gary Harms is 2013 Bendix National Truck Driving Grand Champion

Bruce Renton, Holland, Named Rookie of the Year

SALT LAKE CITY--Aug. 25, 2013: Gary Harms, a Walmart Transportation professional truck driver based in Olathe, Kan. was named the 2013 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion. Gary's driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety information topped those of 422 other professional truckdrivers from all across the United States in the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Salt Lake City, Utah. The 76th annual "Super Bowl of Safety" is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

In route to his title, Gary has logged 30 years as a driver, with over 1.7 million miles behind the wheel. Gary began competing in his state truck driving championships in 2007, and this is his second trip to the National Truck Driving Championships. In 2011, Gary placed first in 4-axle class.

The contestants were the state champions in nine truck types from all 50 states. Collectively, they have driven 605,654,659 accident-free miles.

In their respective classes, drivers tested their expertise in the driving skills they use daily. The competition course inside the Salt Palace Convention Center challenged their knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. The skills course tested drivers' ability to judge distances, maneuver tight spaces, reverse, park, and position their vehicle exactly over scales, before barriers or around curves.

"Gary truly represents what is best about our industry," ATA President and CEO Bill Graves said. "To win the title of Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion, Gary bested more than 420 of America's safest, most professional, drivers and he and his company, Walmart Transportation, should be congratulated for their efforts."

Gary also won the individual 5-Axle Sleeper driving competition. Joining Gary as champions in their respective classes:

Three-Axle: MA - Roland Buldoc, Fedex Express, East Longmeadow, Mass. Four-Axle: NM - Ralph Garcia, ABF Freight System, Inc., Rio Rancho, N. Mex. Five-Axle: VA - George Johnson, UPS Freight, Aylett, Va. Flatbed Class: KY - Richard Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight, Lanesville, Ind. Sleeper Berth Class: KS - Gary Harms, Walmart Transportation, Olathe, Kan. Straight Truck: MD - James Carver, Owings, Md. Tank Truck Class: AZ - Ina Daly, Con-way Freight, Avondale, Ariz. Twins: ID: Timothy Melody, ABF Freight System, Inc., Fruitland, Idaho Step Van: OK: Justin Kingsley, FedEx Ground, Tulsa, Okla.

Gary Harms succeeds Don Logan, a professional truck driver with FedEx Freight from Eskridge, Kan., as the National Grand Champion.

Bruce Renton, a driver for Holland from Grand Rapids, Mich., was named 2013 Rookie of the Year after competing in the Straight Truck division. Renton has 13 years behind the wheel and over 900,000 accident-free miles.

The Kansas state truck driving championship team won honors as the highest scoring state team, with Wisconsin coming in second, followed by Vermont.

A full list of award winners is attached.

*Editors: High resolution photos of the winners are available.

ATA's National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships include top professional truck drivers from around the United States competing at company, state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 20-24 in Salt Lake City. The NTDC annually attracts over 2,000 cheering friends, family, colleagues and spectators. For more information, visit the 2013 National Truck Driving Championships website. Follow NTDC on Facebook.

American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation's freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Good stuff. Trucks Bring It!

2013 National Truck Driving Championship Winners:

Grand Champion: Gary Harms, Walmart Transportation (Olathe, Kan.) National Rookie of the Year: Bruce Renton, Holland (Grand Rapids, Mich.) State Team Trophy: Kansas Vehicle Condition Award: Don Logan, FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.) Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award: Ralph Garcia, ABF Freight System, Inc. (Rio Rancho, N.M.) Life-Time Volunteer Award: John Killilee, Meridian, ID

Perfect Score on Written Exam:

Judd Adams, Con-way Freight, Straight Truck, Taylorville, Utah Ina Daly, Con-way Freight, Tank Truck, Avondale, Ariz. Donald Logan, FedEx Freight, Flatbed, Eskridge, Kan. Timothy Melody, ABF Freight System, Twins, Fruitland, Idaho Jeffrey Thompson, FedEx Freight, 3-Axle, Olathe, Kan.

National Champions:

Straight Truck Class

James Carver, Maryland (Owings) Judd Adams, Con-way Freight, Utah (Taylorville) Daniel Jones, FedEx Freight, Kansas (Topeka)

3-Axle Class

Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express, Massachusetts (E. Longmeadow) Eric Courville, FedEx Freight, Louisiana (Breaux Bridge) Jason Harrington, Con-way Freight, North Dakota (Bismarck)

4-Axle Class

Ralph Garcia, ABF Freight System, New Mexico (Rio Rancho) Thomas Griffin, FedEx Freight, Connecticut (Wallingfod) Jeremy Steger, Con-way Freight, Wisconsin (Fond du Lac)

5-Axle Class

George Johnson, UPS Freight, Virginia (Aylett) Harold Snyder, North Carolina (King) Ivan Nikolic, FedEx Ground, Illinois (Chicago)

Flatbed Class

Richard Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight, Kentucky (Lanesville, Ind.) Larry Rhein, FedEx Freight, Arkansas (Harrison) Paul Brandon, FedEx Freight, Connecticut (Oxford)

Tank Truck Class

Ina Daly, Con-way Freight, Arizona (Avondale) Tony Spero, ABF Freight System, Connecticut (Stratford) Jason Matte, FedEx Freight, Mississippi (Flowood)

Twins Class

Timothy Melody, ABF Freight System, Idaho (Fruitland) Alfonso Saavedra, Con-way Freight, California (Watsonville) Barry Kraemer, Con-way Freight, Wisconsin (New Holstein)

Sleeper Berth Class

Gary Harms, Walmart Transportation, Kansas (Olathe) Leo Flack, A. Duie Pyle, Pennsylvania (West Chester) Timothy Sproles, UPS Freight, Tennessee (Bristol, Virginia)

Step Van

Justin Kingsley, FedEx Ground, Oklahoma (Tulsa) Salvatore Vincelli, FedEx Ground, Pennsylvania (Allentown) Michael Forchetti, FedEx Express, Maryland (Frederick)

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: