The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Barber Series - Portante Wins By .25 Points To Take Shootout

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Braselton, Dec. 17, 2012: Skip Barber Racing School continues to develop the next generation of professional racers through this outstanding opportunity for aspiring formula racers. The champion of the 2012 Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout is Peter Portante.

Portante edged runner-up Jake Eidson by .25 points. Only 3.3 points separated the top-4 finishers.

"This is just an unbelievable weekend, good drivers, so many close races," said Portante, who now has his sights set firmly on the 2013 USF2000 season. "First and second were separated by four points. Top top four were all between four points. So it's an unbelievable weekend. It's just a testament to what Skip Barber can do to young drivers."

The Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout is an event that rewards drivers from the Skip Barber Winter and Summer Race Series the opportunity to compete for more than $300,000 in racing scholarships.

The top racers from the 2011-2012 Winter and Summer Race Series competed in the grueling three day process where they were evaluated on their overall performance in 5 race events, media evaluation, fitness test and a business proposal. Portante will receive a scholarship from Mazda toward the 2013 USF2000 race season, an IndyLights Test with Bryan Herta Autosport, and a $20,000 cash prize from California Scents. The second through fifth place finshers will receive scholarships to compete in 2013 Skip Barber Race Series events.

This year's Championship Shootout took place December 14 - December 16, 2012 at Road Atlanta. This event is the pinnacle of the Skip Barber Racing School Scholarship Ladder, rewarding young racers who are dedicated to their craft and successfully work their way through the proven Skip Barber system. No other developmental race series offers as much expert coaching both on and off the track, media exposure, scholarship opportunities and vital track time.

2012 Skip Barber Race Series Champion Shootout Awards:

Peter Portante - 1st place: $200,000 MAZDASPEED USF2000 Scholarship presented by Mazda for the 2013 season; $20,000 cash from California Scents; IndyLights Test with Bryan Herta Autosport
Jake Eidson - 2nd place: $25,000 Race Series Scholarship
Danilo Estrela - 3rd place: $20,000 Race Series Scholarship
Tristan DeGrand - 4th place: $15,000 Race Series Scholarship
Aaron Telitz - 5th place: $10,000 Race Series Scholarship

*All scholarships funds are spread out over each race event throughout the course of the 2012 season, and cannot be applied to only a few select events.